My Reviews (106)

Blonde Brownies with Choc Chips

"Blonde" vanilla brownies with chocolate chips and walnuts: these are simple to make and they are delicious.
Reviews (106)


08 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: SaraW
I love this recipe! I have made them often, and have found a few tricks for them. First, the quick relese tinfoil works well with this recipe. Sticking is no longer a issue at all. After they look done I turn the oven off and leave the brownies in the oven as it cools. This helps with the gooeyness. I also vary the chips I use. Choc.,white choc., butterscatch, candy bar bits...They all work well in this recipe. I also like to cut the recipe in half and put it in a samller pan(8*8) for a shorter cook time(start to check after about 15 min.). Since it's hard not to eat them all gone right away, this helps me, since there is not as much to eat! Give it a try, they are SOOOOOO good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Connie-O
I have been trying to duplicate a Blondies recipe that I used to make when I was a kid. This recipe comes closest. With 3 changes I think I finally found it. I reduced the flour from 2 2/3 cup to 2 1/2 cup, added a tsp of vanilla and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan, increasing the cooking time by about 5 minutes. The blondies are moist, chewy and wonderful. Thanks for the jumping off point.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: mom23sweeties
What a yummy recipe! I followed the advice of several of the other reviewers and made the following changes: I reduced the flout to 2 1/2 cups, added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and baked it in a 9x13 pan for 40 minutes. The batter was sticky (which the kids liked!), but the blondies baked up nice and fluffy. This is an incredibly easy, EXTREMELY delicious recipe. Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Bassi Gruen
These were very good, but more of a cake than a bar. If you want absolute killer blondies, try Blonde Brownies I on this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: pixiegirl
I'm not sure what others were talking about, when they say the recipe came out dry. My guess is that they overmixed after adding flour. My batch came out wonderfully. I did jazz it up just a bit though... I added about 3 TBS of good quality instant coffee powder 2 TBS heavy cream, and used milk chocolate chips. I baked it in a 9x13 pan for about 35 minutes. They turned out moist, chewy, and really flavorful! Good job, GREAT recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: NANCY E. WILLEY
I was looking for a truly "blonde" brownie recipe, so I omitted the chocolate chips. It also didn't appear to make enough batter for a 15x10 pan, so I made mine in a 13x9 and baked them for 25 minutes. I did also add 2 tsp of vanilla. The brownies are delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Sierra Z
These are the best brownies I have ever made. I did what the others did, adding a teaspoon vanilla and cutting down on the flour to 2 1/2 cups, cooking for 35 minutes in a 9x13 pan. I also omitted the walnuts and they came out PERFECT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: DSJONES
When I ws kid blonde brownies were my favorite dessert but I hadn't had any in years until I found this recipe. When I made them I felt like that kid again. My kids loved them and my husband (who usually hates brownies) loved them and asked for more. I have since made them several times for my family and for friends. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: gimmickchick
THANK YOU ROSINA!!! These brownies are simply great! Even just the batter was scrumptious! I was out of brown sugar so I substituted with 1 and 3/4 cups white sugar plus 1/4 cup molasses. I also added 2 teaspoons of butter-vanilla flavoring, and that just made it even better! I left out the chocolate chips and nuts for 100% pure brownie pleasure. Excellent served warm with an ice-cold glass of milk!!! WARNING: Don't make these when you're on a diet!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: candycane
I took the advice of changing the flour to 1 1/2C, but it should have been 2 cups or more. They came out incredible greasy and flat, and way too sweet....NOT a good recipe at all....a bronie whould be moist and chewy and much thicker, not flat and greasy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes