My Reviews (89)

Fruity Barbecue Sauce

You'll be amazed how the the flavour of blackberries complements barbecued pork or beef ribs. Try it at your next summer barbecue.
Reviews (89)


02 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: KIMBACUB
I was really nervous about making this recipe because my husband is not a big fan of sweet stuff. Well, I'm happy to say we both LOVED this! I followed the recipe exactly except that I only added 1 cup of ketchup as per other reviewers suggestions and than I added a 1/4 cup of Bull's Eye bbq sauce because I was worried it would taste to "ketchup tasting" as other reviewers said. The intersting thing about this recipe is that is tastes awesome and you would never be able to tell what it is that tastes so interesting. I had my husband brush this on chicken wings that we grilled and they reminded me of the wonderful taste of duck when they serve it with a fruit glaze/sauce. I used seedless blackberry preserves. We are having a bbq on JLu 4th and are planning on serving this! I can't wait to see peoples reactions when they ask what is in it. Thank you for a delicious recipe! Try it...you will not be disappointed. It is NOT too sweet......just YUMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: Point Ina James
HI EVERYONE! YES THIS IS MY RECIPE, BUT I FOUND IF YOU DO NOT LIKE THE SEEDS SIEVE THEM OUT OF THE JAM OR USE JELLY PRESERVES. EVERY SUMMER I MAKE MY OWN PRESERVES USING LOW SUGAR AND MORE FRUIT. PLEASE REMEMBER THAT SOME JAMS OR JELLYS MAY NOT BE AS FRUITY AS HOME MADE PRESERVES. IF YOU PREFER A HOTTER SAUCE ADD A COUPLE OF DASHES OF EITHER TABASCO SAUCE OR THAI HOT CHILE SAUCE OR CHILPOTLE HOT SAUCE. YOU MAY ADD FRESH BLACK BERRYS TO THE FINAL SAUCE THESE ARE A FEW THINGS I HAVE EXPERIMENTED WITH AND DONE TO THIS RECIPE. i AM GLAD EVERYONE LIKED IT
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: EMCENTIRE
My family loves this sauce. To combat the excess in ketchup, just add more preserves and we also add a little honey. This is our favorite barbeque sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: Udo Rosenberg
Similair to my Blackberry Barbecue sauce , except I use blackberry Jelly ( no seeds), double all the amount , add 2 tablespoons of celery seeds and cook it 8-10 hours in a crockpot and store it in the fridge for future use. Excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: MARK PORADA
Being from Memphis, BBQ sauce is a big deal. This is better than the best restaurants in town. I recently used this sauce in a Sunday School BBQ contest and it was the hands down favorite. The blackberry really gives it a great flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: American Beauty
I thought this was ok, but to be fair: I'm not into bbq sauces. But my husband is another story. He totally loved this and (this is major): he wants only this bbq sauce for pork/chicken/ham/duck/turkey, and I had to stop him from eating this out of the bowl! Bye-bye Open Pit, Famous Dave's, and everything else that comes bottled in the stores. I used preserves like the recipe calls for; be sure not to use "jam" or "jelly".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: MANDT2
I used this yummy sauce with Ken Heffner's recipe for Barbecue Baby Back Ribs (on this site). What a wonderful combination! My guests are still moaning with pleasure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: KAREN IN MISSOURI
We loved this! I marinated the chicken overnight in a McCormick's Mesquite marinade. We had this for a large group for July 4th, and everybody loved it. More like a treat than a main course!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: bon vivant
This bbq sauce was perfect on the beef ribs I cooked for my husband's birthday. They were sweet, tangy, and had a kick of spice at the end. I added a little more cayenne pepper and seedless blackberry jam because as written it had a little too much ketchup for my taste. Also used white wine vinegar instead of red (only because I didn't have red). I will definitely use this recipe again. Can't wait to try it on chicken! Thanks so much for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: stacey
yummmmmy... this was sooo good. I put it on baby back ribs, and used seedless blackberry jam. It turned out wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes