My Reviews (1,846)

Tuna and Pea Pasta Bake

This is a great and filling recipe that is very easy to throw together. The potato chips give the bake a crunchy crust.
Reviews (1846)


17 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Becky Alsing
This is by far the best tuna casserole I've had, and as easy as the classic. I often substitute canned salmon for tuna, or use canned asparagus as the main veggie. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Michelle Roth-Kiva
This casserole is very good and quite possibly the best one of it's type that I've tasted so far! It reminds me of the tuna casserole that my grandma and mom made when I was a child, but even better!!! This is perfect for kids!!! I omitted the mushrooms since I don't like them. This goes well with a tall, cold glass of milk and oreos for dessert, or if time allows, a Jell-O salad (i.e. cherry cola Jell-O salad) & homemade brownies. Yum! Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: JCS
I am not a huge fan of tuna casserole. It is always so boring, but this recipe is a great start. With a few modifications, it came it fantastic! I used 8oz of noodles instead of 12, which helped keep the dish from drying out in the oven. My family really likes onion, so I used about half of a sweet yellow, roughly chopped. I also added 1/2c sour cream and 1/4 milk to the mix. I didn't have any chips so I just used cheese as a topping, but french fried onions would be great on top. Baked in a 2qt round casserole dish for about 25 minutes at 350. You don't have to bake at such a high temperature since everything is already cooked. You only need to thaw the peas and warm the dish. With these alterations, the casserole came out moist and delicious. My husband ate about half of it in one sitting and it makes great leftovers too! We will be having this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2011
Reviewed by: Ainae
I give the recipe as is three stars. The first time I made it, it wasn't that great. But with some changes it made it up to five! Instead of cooking the noodles to al dente, I cooked them until they were tender. I used three cans of cream of mushroom soup as well, which really helped a lot. I also added in half of a normal sized block of cream cheese. That REALLY kicked the flavor up a lot and took it to a whole other level. I also cooked the onion so that it was tender instead of crunchy. Now what I did was I mixed the cream mixture up and heated it before mixing it in with the noodles. I reduced the cooking temp to 350 instead of 425. The result is that the casserole came out delicious and creamy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2003
Reviewed by: ROXANNAW
This recipe is a good. It is fast and easy to fix. It might be a little bland and it does taste very similar to a Tuna Helper meal but has the homemade appeal instead. I used crushed corn flake cereal dredged in butter for the top since I had no potato chips on hand and it worked okay but I would definitely try the chips if I were to make it again. All in all, this is a good recipe with simple ingredients right out of the pantry. It is a recipe that will turn out just average.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2009
Reviewed by: Merkelicious
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because, while it was delicious, I had to make the suggested changes to make it work. I took advice from varying reviews, and added a little macaroni and cheese know-how, and ended up with a great casserole! There wasn't a dry noodle in the house. Here's what I did: - Chopped up about 2/3 of a red onion and sauteed in the pan. When onions were nearly done cooking, I added about 6 sliced Baby Bella mushrooms and sauteed for a few minutes. - Meanwhile, I poured 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup in a pan. Filled each can with milk and added that as well. I brought the mixture to a boil, shut off the heat, and added about 2 1/2 to 3 cups of shredded cheese (extra to compensate for the milk). I stirred the cheese in until a cheese sauce was formed, adding salt and pepper along the way. - I then mixed the cheese sauce into the noodles, along with the tuna, onions, mushrooms and frozen veggies. Once everything was coated, I covered in flavored bread crumbs and baked. - The end result.... A+!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: AzulEyez
This is an exceptional tuna casserole...HINT: I mixed in one cup of sour cream before baking. This eliminated ANY dryness anyone else has experienced!!! Try the sour cream. Makes it incredibly creamy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Abby
I always feel bad altering a recipe... I mean following it is what makes it a recipe! I was having a hankering for tuna casserole and needed a base recipe. This worked perfect, and I loved the suggestions everyone else had too. To make this "my family" friendly, I omitted the mushrooms, onions and peas (lol) and instead used 2 cups of frozen chopped broccoli. I also put in a cup of sour cream, cayenne pepper, garlic salt and used sharp white cheddar cheese. For the top I skipped the cheese and just used crushed croutons and it was so good!! I highly recommend this recipe, either as written or doctored up. Its a really simple, delicious one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Jen
I made this for dinner last night and it was excellent. I read the reviews first and made the following changes: 1. sauteed the onion with a little minced garlic before adding, 2. used mixed veggies instead of peas (family preference), 3. baked in a round 2 qt casserole instead of a 9x13 dish, 4. whisked the 2 cans of soup with one can of milk before adding and seasoned the soup with salt and pepper, 5. mixed most of the cheese in and sprinkled just a little on top, 6. topped with crushed whole grain Ritz instead of potato chips (family preference), 7. used whole grain egg noodles (family preference), 8. baked at 375 for 15 minutes covered, then 425 for 10 minutes uncovered. It was moist, creamy, and delicious. It may have needed a little more veggies and tuna, but that's personal preference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: momof2angels
I did read over the reviews before trying this out myself and i am glad i saw that it does dry out a little bit. So the only thing i did extra was add a half can of cheddar cheese soup (or sour cream if cheddar cheese soup is not in pantry). and since i didn't have any potato chips or crackers, i improvised and used the canned french's fried onions. DELICIOUS!!!! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes