My Reviews (129)

Spicy Barbecue Sauce

This is a wonderful sauce for all kinds of barbecued meats. It's particularly good on pork, or try basting chicken with it on the barbecue.
Reviews (129)


08 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: SUZORAMA
Living in Charleston, I have had this type of sauce dozens of times, but this recipe is just what I was looking for. It's a little spicier than most, but I prefer a sweet-hot sauce. Also, omitted the liquid smoke and it was still great! Thanks for a great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: dawmel
Wow! As I prepared the sauce I seriously had doubts about this recipe. However after basting it over grilled chicken during the final stages of cooking, I became a believer. I could drink this sauce! I did do some slight modifications. I reduced the mustard to 3/4 cup, and used the pepper in moderation. (We have little kids)--hence, not so spicy. Still, it was fabulous! Thanks for such a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Great stuff! Next time I will use less mustard and cut down on the white and black peppers. I did add a bit more brown sugar but overall fabulous for pulled pork.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: MALIBUMEL
i cut the mustard down to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 cup honey to take off the edge of what i knew would be a tangy sauce. cooked boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the crock pot with the sauce, and my husband loved it! we recently moved to north carolina, and this sauce stands up to what we've had in the highest-recommended diners here!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: candy
Thank you Thank you thank you! I am a Carolinian and with my own slight adjustments, I found this to be the closest to what I grew up with.....my family butchered their own meats and held their own pig pickins- Just like my grandaddy's..who was a butcher by trade! Thanks again for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: JACQUI623
I made this sauce this weekend and it turned out really great. The next day I cooked a pork roast in the slow cooker until it fell apart then added this wonderful sauce to it. My husband thought it was just like what he had had in the Carolinas. Thanks for a great BBQ sauce!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: BELEWBUBBLE
This was excellent. I browned 5 lbs. of boneless chops, slathered them with this sauce and cooked them on low in the crock pot with about 3/4 cup of sauce. When they were falling apart I added the balance of the sauce (only made 2 cups of sauce) and shredded the meat. We had sandwiches the next day and my Carolina-raised husband said it was the best barbeque sandwich he'd ever eaten. I steamed the buns and topped the BBQ with a little extra hot sauce and regular slaw (as opposed to BBQ slaw) Yummy - better than 5 stars!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: CHILDOFMAC
Oh my goodness! This was fantastic! I am more used to BBQ from SE North Carolina but this mustard based sauce is great! Thanks Andy for sharing!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: JSWAVOLA
My family loved this...even my picky teenager. We liked the extra kick in the sauce. They're already planning when I will use this again. I used brown sugar twin instead of the regular brown sugar and it worked out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Anna Lee
Great for family reunion! A little spicy so I only used 1 cup mustard and added 1/2 cup pork broth to bbq sauce mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes