My Reviews (28)

Simple Cinnamon Coffee Cake

This coffee cake is delicious and simple to make. Serve it as an afternoon snack, or a dessert, or even for a decadent breakfast!
Reviews (28)


18 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: BakerT
Very good! This recipe peaked my interest as my dad attended the same high school. The cake lives up to its reputation--very moist after letting it set overnight. I used brown sugar instead of white in the crumb topping because of personal preference, and would suggest doubling the topping recipe if you like a lot of crumbs; it doesn't make a whole lot. Overall a very nice coffee cake and easy to make with ingredients everyone has on hand!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: MEGAN24
I accidentally added twice as much butter as I was supposed to, and didn't realize it until the next day. I was wondering why the cake was so moist! It was fabulous. Next time, I might not add so much butter -- maybe just a little extra for good measure. I also doubled the crumb topping, since my husband and I like it. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: ANGELFROMHEAVEN
This is a wonderful coffee cake recipe, very moist! I already had a favorite coffee cake recipe, but I couldn't resist trying this because of the history of it. I am glad that I did. It is quick and easy and uses basic ingredients that most of us already have in our cupboards and refrigerator. I reduced the oven temperature to 350 (375 seems too hot for such a small cake) and baked for the recommended time of 25 minutes. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon to the batter. I also topped the cake with a glaze made from powder sugar, almond extract, and a little bit of milk. No need to cool the cake before topping with glaze since there is no butter in it. This has earned a page in my favorite recipes collection! Thank you for sharing such a special recipe and the history of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Nanabop
I went to Ben Lippen for 4 years and had this coffee cake every Thursday! (if memory serves me right!) Love it and love Mrs. Hathaway!!! We always ate it in a bowl with milk poured over it! My kids to this day eat their coffeecake that way too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Mom2svn
I love this recipe! I found it on this site at least 4 years ago and it has become a family favorite! It is a simple classic and very "forgiving". I have 5 children home during the day and they gobble this up when I make it. It is a good "standby" esp when you are in a "pinch": short on time or short on ingredients. This has just a few simple ingredients that most of us always have on hand. It does make quite a "small" coffee cake so I usually double it or at least 1 1/2 times the recipe. By "forgiving" I mean you can be pretty creative with this recipe and still come out with a simple delicious breakfast or snack cake. I have substituted oat flour, or ground flax meal for part of the flour. I have added a dab of sour cream to make it more rich. I have added sugar cinnamon to the batter. I have added nuts. I get creative w/ whatever I happen to have on hand. We almost always double the topping too. I think you could add a little apple sauce or pumpkin puree to this recipe for variation. It is just a great BASIC coffee cake and I love the history behind it. I know nothing about the Ben Lippen school but when I make this recipe I always get curious to know more about it. We had this coffee cake for breakfast this morning. Just delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Mrs. B2
Outstanding! The other review talk about it being a bit bland, but that works for my kids. I did double the topping and used brown sugar just because it's a family favorite . . . just like this recipe will be. Thank you very much for posting a coffee cake that I have all the ingredients IN THE CUPBOARD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: tbarnett
This recipe was so easy and quick to make and went down a treat for Sunday afternoon. I have saved this as one of my favourites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 May 2009
Reviewed by: CHEYNNEAUTUMN
The cake had good flavor, but the topping was "lackluster". Doubling the topping is recommended and use brown sugar instead of white. Also, I drizzled some almond flavored icing over the top and since I had fresh sliced strawberries, added those too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: agmetge
Yummy and mild. Kids loved it. I used brown sugar for the topping instead of white and reduced the amount of butter to 1 T. to make it less gloppy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: BearFoot Contessa
This is a cake for simple tast people.. its quick easy and pritty much fool proof..however i think it is lacking in tast the crumbs are great but the actual tast needs more.. i think add more vanilla or cinnimin next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes