My Reviews (137)

Beer Battered Fish Fillets

Beer batter is made and used to cover white fish fillets of your choice then cooked until golden brown. Serve with chips, salad and a slice of lemon.
Reviews (137)


04 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: SUZINOHIO
I read the reviews of this, and I have to admit I was worried about the end result. After a few modifications- omited the dill(my family dosen't care for it), used a tablespoon each of onion powder, garlic powder and old bay. Increased this flour by 1/2 cup and baking power to 1 and 1/2 teaspoons, decreased the milk to 1/4 cup, also the beer(budweiser)to 1/2 cup. As one other cook noted; leave to filets in the batter for 30 mins, it worked out great. No problems with the batter sticking, but make sure you dry the fish well before placing it in the batter bowl. I used a mixture of talapia and walleye, everyone loved it! Even me, a very picky fish eater! Served with Vicky's hushpuppies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Christy
This was totaly awesome!! After reading some of the other reviews, they stated the batter was to running. I added a 1/2 cup of corn meal to the batter, also some garlic & onion powder to taste and/or fish seasoning. I also let the fish sit in the batter for 30 min. This made the batter a bit thicker on the fish and made it stick well. My entire family loved this recipe. I am also expected to make this recipe for my neighbor. She buys the fish I cook it. We now have an awesome batter for our fish. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: caliboo
We enjoyed this meal, although I did leave out the dill, as I didn't have any, and I cut the amount of beer to slightly less than half a cup, because three quarters seemed to be too much and would have made the batter too thin. These turned out well, were crispy and flavorful, and I'd make them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: JESSICA1467
Excellent! I did change a few things. First I scaled the recipe to four servings. Then I increased the 1/2 cup of flour to 2/3 and used 2 Tbls. of fresh dill instead of the 1/4 tsp. used in the scaled version. The fish was dredged in flour before the batter was put on. I let the fish sit in the batter in the fridge for 30-45 minutes. I used catfish but a firmer fish next time would probably be be even better. I used about 1/4 inch of oil in a pan and fried it on medium to medium high heat for about 5 minutes a side. Although we really enjoyed it, I think next time I will add more dill, more beer (decreasing the milk proportionately), and perhaps some onion powder. This was also the first time I did not have the batter slide off of what I was frying. I think the time setting up in the fridge is what made the difference
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: BABSKITCHEN
This was really good and really easy to make. After reading other reviews, I decided to increase the flour to 1-1/2 cups, the baking powder to 1-1/2 tsp., and the dill to 3/4 tsp. We like dill and didn't think it was very noticeable so I think I would maybe make that a full tsp. I soaked all the fish for 30 mins. and they cooked up beautifully. Everyone enjoyed them! I used cod filets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: I'm nuts too...
Good batter. I took into consideration that the batter may be thin, so I added a little less beer & milk. I also added garlic & onion powders. It did need a little more flavor, but it renewed my faith in frying, because it came out nice & crisp and totally stuck to my white bass. I will use this again, thanks Karen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: Randi
We used Tilapia fish fillets. The kids devoured them. Used dry "dill & lemon" spice versus just dill. Used elctronic skillet with a 1/4 inch of oil versus deep fry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: Corky
Good stuff. It was a wee bit thin, but that is easy to fix with a touch more flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: Carol
I like a litte more spices, but my husband loved it. He thought it was great beer battered fish. I will definately make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: KMB233
I found the batter to be a little too thin . But the flavor was awesome.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes