My Reviews (16)

Quick Chocolate Brownies with Walnuts

A chocolate brownie with chocolate chips and walnuts. This recipe uses a packet of cake mix and is quick and easy.
Reviews (16)


01 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: PRAETORIAN2000
These were good and easy to make. After reading what everyone else said about the batter being dry, I melted the butter instead of using it softened. That helped a lot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: TEZERACT
My hubby came home quite late last night and says he needed a batch of brownies for a bake sale in the morning. Needless to say I freaked. All my brownie recipes call for 4 or more eggs. Thankfully, I found this recipe. And to think you make it out of a cake mix. Even better. I thru them together in no time. I of course had to try them before I just gave them to my hubby. Well, I only wrapped up 16, kept the other 8 for myself. He sure wasn't getting the whole batch. Not after I tasted them. Thanks a whole bunch for this time saving recipe. Definately will be making this again, plus will be passing it on to my daughter. She just loves easy brownie and cookie recipes. And this one is right up her alley.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2009
Reviewed by: nrgizrbune41
These were pretty good in a pinch. I used regular chocolate cake mix because that all I had and wanted to bake. An old trick my Mom taught me is to add 1 Tablespoon corn syrup to the mix. It makes a chewy brownie. I used oil as someone suggested. My brownies were a bit flatter than than usual. But they were moist. I cut back on the baking time, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: SUSAN HENDERSON
Easy to fix and tasty. I took the advice of another reviewer and used oil instead of butter. The brownies were moist and great with Blue Bell ice cream!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: N.NERO
These are pretty good and very easy to make. The only problem I had was I found them to be a little on the dry side. If I make them again I think I will substitute oil for butter or find a cake mix that requires butter, not oil like the one I used. But please don't be discouraged from trying these are are pretty good and so easy it's worth a try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: marlakay
Too dry. If I'm going to make brownies with a mix, I'd get better results with an actual brownie mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: marisa
will not make again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: GEChocolate
These brownies were too dry for my liking. I prefer something fudgier and moist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Debby Allen
Good recipe! I added a little more liquid to keep them from being dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: gothic_rosebud
i started by following the posted recipe but added 3 Tbl of applesauce because i dont like useing oil but wanted to follow other comments stating that the brownies were dry. i did find that while i was mixing the batter was very thick but i put it in the oven anyways. during the cooking process they did puff up quite a bit. i used white choloate cuse thats what i had. so they taste reat, more fluffy than a normal brownies but still awsome!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes