My Reviews (44)

Spicy Pasta Sauce

This is a super easy pasta sauce that we use on all types of pasta. Occasionally we add capsicum, fresh chillies or similar.
Reviews (44)


10 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Jillian Kuhlmann
This was my first attempt at homemade marinara. I used a 10oz. can crushed tomatoes and 1 can rotel, I pureed the rotel. I did tweak the seasonings a bit! My bf thought it was too runny so I will add tomato paste next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2009
Reviewed by: AmandaB
I'm giving this five stars although at first I thought that it was too spicy. I scaled the recipe to accommodate a huge can of crushed tomatoes that I needed to use up (hence my search for a tomato sauce recipe). Although I doubled the recipe and still added extra tomatoes (64 ounces instead of a mere 56) it had a lot of bite. Yet, I can't stop eating it, and my husband, who doesn't crave spicy foods, likes it too, and says it is not too spicy. This is a good sauce in which to add those things that you want to get rid of. I added a rind from a wedge of romano cheese, and let it simmer quite a while. And, as good as it is, I had some heavy cream that needed to be used up, so I added 7 ounces of heavy cream to a double recipe of this sauce. Very good, and I imagine it will be even better with pasta!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: KatieLouLu
So GOOD! Make more, and freeze it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Saveur
Wow, great basic recipe, loved this! I make hot italian sausages in the slow cooker, usually just dump a jar of prepared sauce for a quick fix, but was out of sauce. I did have a can of crushed tomatoes, and found this recipe. So glad I did. I did do some doctoring, in addition to the recipe ingredients I added some fine chopped carrot, about 1/2 cup red wine, and a packet of beef boulion in place of salt. I also added some sugar, about two tablespoons, to cut the acidity and sweeten a bit. Delicious. Good-bye jarred sauce!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: SMARIGOLD717
I added a pinch of sugar, 1 tbsp of tomato paste (for thickness) and a tiny bit of vegetable bullion cube. delicious and very easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Tom Burns
Good as far as it goes. If you can get away with it, use tomato sauce and simmer it longer, the longer the better, adding water if you need to. As others have said, a bit of tomato paste will thicken the sauce, but make it even more acidic and bitter. So . . . Add a pinch of baking soda. IMO, sugar is not a good idea because it doesn't solve the acidity. It only masks it (and does so badly). Instead, do what my sainted grandmother used to do. Add a pinch of baking soda just as the sauce begins to simmer and stir the foam back in. Bases counteract acids. Cook awhile and add a little more baking soda if necessary. (Taste first.) That step will allow the natural sweetness of the tomato to assert itself. Don't overdo the baking soda, though. It will make the sauce unacceptably salty. Oh, and leave out the salt if you use bs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Rachel_Baltimore
This sauce is fabulous! I did make a few of my own tweaks to it after making it a few times. I have kids & they, especially my youngest, don't like the hotness. So I omit the crushed red pepper flakes & for those of us that do like it spicy we sprinkle it on top of our separate dishes. I also added meat, sausage & meatballs. I brown the sausage first before letting them cook in the sauce. Because I triple the recipe I actually have to bake my meatballs in the oven due to not having a big enough pot. Because I added meat the sauce came out a tad watery so the next time I drained the juice from the diced tomatoes & that seemed to help. Overall an excellent sauce, great for my entire family. It has become a staple in our household & every I make homemade sauce this is the recipe. It also cooks well in the crockpot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: lovsmack
Mmm.. this was so good I was eating it plain, there was barely enough sauce left to cover my stuffed shells! I added a little bit of half and half (or heaving whipping cream) because that's how I like my sauces but it was still good without it. Super easy, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: jj2jag
Too acidic. Add sugar to balance.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: BETTY BOOP
Some of the spices need to change: only 2 cloves of garlic, no italian seasoning, add: 1 TBSP dried Oregano, 2 TBSP dried BASIL, 2 Tsp. grated NUTMEG, 2 Tsp. Salt and 2 TBSP sugar. If you make these changes, it will be a 5-star recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes