My Reviews (1,571)

Easy Tuna Topping

A simple combination of ingredients including tinned tuna, mayonnaise, parmesan and spices creates a great topping that can be used as a sandwich filler or on crackers.
Reviews (1571)


19 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: ekp333
Fantastic! This is the best tuna salad I have ever tasted! The first time I made it I used chunk light tuna, and tonight I used albacore...it's great either way. I don't understand why some reviews state that there's too much mayo or dill. When draining the tuna, I use the lid of the can to squeeze it dry. Isn't that how everyone does it? It makes quite a stiff mixture this way. I also used the straight edge of a spatula to level off each measuring spoon and get an accurate measurement of each ingredient. My 7th grade home economics teacher was a stickler about this. I find this especially important when using the more potent herbs and spices such as in this recipe. Anyway...I simply ate this on a slice of sundried tomato bread from my local bakery. I was planning to toast it first but I couldn't wait! It was delicious! Once this is refrigerated overnight and served on bakery bread with romaine lettuce, swiss cheese and a slice of garden-ripened tomato it is a ten star recipe for certain!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Hope N.
Just thought I'd share my twist to this wonderfully flavored salad!!! I used only 1 T. lite Miracle Whip just to give moisture and The Pampered Chef Dill seasoning mix for the dill and garlic. It was JUST the VERY low fat change I wanted so I could add more healthy tuna to my diet. Thanks soooo much!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Crystal S
Very nice change of pace from the traditional tuna sandwich. Served this at a "Mad Hatter's Tea Party" recently and they were perfect! Will definity serve again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: MelindaD
I searched for a tuna salad recipe that was a little different from the norm. I doubled this recipe and found that the taste was just ok, but easily modified to be GREAT! First of all, I would cut down on the amount of relish and parsley and add a little more cheese. I used fresh onion since I don't keep minced dried onion in the house. It took about 2 Tbl of the onion to make it "show up" in the taste of this recipe. That's 2T total for this recipe DOUBLED. I know I will make this again, but with a few little tweaks that I mentioned. Also, don't be afraid of the curry. It is excellent in this dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: ~TAYLOR~
I've prepared this a few times for several different people and everyone loves it. I do use less mayo in mine, fresh, finely diced onion (maybe 2 Tbsp., more than a pinch of garlic powder, half the parsley and I have taken to adding a bit of diced cucumber, as well. Customize to suit your own taste... the basic recipe is a winner. Highly recommended. Thanks, TANAQUIL!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Barbie I have to hand it to ya - you've taken tuna salad to whole new level. This stuff is really, really good. I normally don't like sweet pickle relish in tuna salad, but for some reason it works here. I used 1/4 tsp. of dried minced onion flakes and was a bit liberal with the garlic powder. I also added a bit of salt and pepper. I have to say, this is probably one of the best tuna salads on this site. It was so good I whipped up a second batch and made a sandwich for my husband to take to work tomorrow. He's not a huge tuna salad fan, but I bet this will turn him into one. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: SIXX788
This is my one of my favorite sandwiches. I can't eat the tuna plain anymore after this recipe. I ran out of dill weed so I just made it without it the other day and I liked it even better without it. I make this recipe regularly now.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: MONKEY10
This is a great unique take on traditional boring tuna salad. I LOVED the curry addition. As most have stated, I used quite a bit less mayo, 2 TBL, and replaced with Mircale Whip, as I like the flavor better. I also decreased the relish to 2TBL, as I wanted the tuna flavor to be more recognizable. Fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Diana S.
Thanks so much for this great recipe! The only change I made was to use less mayo (about 4T.) My husband and I love curry so this was a match made in heaven for us. I use the tuna in the pouch which I think is moister and has a better flavor. This is the tuna salad I'll make from now on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: CookinLovin
Very good tuna salad recipe! I cannot understand why some people don't follow the recipe or don't like an ingredient or two, then give the recipe a poor rating. I changed a few things because of mine and my family's tastes. I added some hard boiled eggs, more onion, a dash of yellow mustard and a pinch of tarragon. I usually do a little tweaking to most recipes I as I've been cooking for 40 years and know what my family likes. But if a recipe I've seen here doesn't turn out well and I have altered it, I would NEVER come here and give it a poor rating since I changed it! We LOVE this tuna salad and I would never have thought to use some of the ingredients in it (such as Parmesan and curry powder), so THANK YOU TANAQUIL!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes