My Reviews (62)

Banana Cake with Chocolate and Coconut

This variation of a basic banana cake recipe has chocolate chips, coconut and walnuts. A tasty treat for the whole family.
Reviews (62)


09 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: LIBBY729
This cake is good. In order to cut some fat and calories, I only used 1/2 cup butter and added 1/2 applesauce to make up for it. I also cut the sugar in half to only 1/2 cup. I didn't have buttermilk, so used light sour cream instead. I also used mini chocolate chips and left out the nuts and coconut. I still thought it was yummy and even my picky boys ate it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: KUCHEN1
Oh my. Soooo good. My husband and I can't get enough of this. We left out the coconut and walnuts and it still turned out beautiful--great flavor and texture. After mashing 3 bananas, I had a quarter cup more than is called for but I used it all anyway. Worked great. This is a new family favorite! Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: LOBSTER
Turned out great!! Knowing a teen boy would scarf all of this down fast, I made a few healthy subs...1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup light margarine, 1/2 cup apple sauce, 1/2 cup non-fat yogurt, 1/2 cup ww flour, 1 cup old fashioned oats and I used milk choc chips (what I had on hand). Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: STEPH577
This was really yummy! I used half the butter, and replaced the other half with fat free vanilla yogurt to lower the fat a bit. I only had a cup of chocolate chips so I used the in the cake part and sprinkled brown sugar on the top instead. It was really good and gave it a crunchy-sticky topping. Next time I will sprinkle the chocolate chips and the brown sugar on it. Will definitley make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: CinfulySwt
Phenomenal! Such a moist and delicious cake. My alterations were minor, and only because I lacked 2 ingredients. Instead of buttermilk, I used regular milk and a splash of lemon juice to curdle. Instead of walnuts I used sliced almonds, which were fabulous in the moist cake and mixed very nicely with the coconut. Finally, I added about 1/4 cup of milled flaxseed just to give it a little healthy kick. mmmmmm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: pennycandy
this is a very good recipe. i like the chocolate chips in it, but the added chocolate chips on top is too much for my taste. definatly will be making this again, without the extra chocolate on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: MEGAN MARIE
This is a great cake for a twist to the traditional banana bread. I made this minus the coconut and nuts and it was super! Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: julie
This was seriously horrible. I expected so much from it. I think it just had too many ingredients/conflicting flavors.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Melody
Moist, nice flavor and perfect for a simple summer dessert. Perfect as is, but I love nuts and coconut so may double both the next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: superkette
I altered the recipe a little bit. Like others, I only used 3/4 cup of butter. I had four bananas on their way out, so I used them all. I was running short on chocolate chips, so I added cocoa powder to the dry mixture. And, I'm out of nuts. In the end, they are delicious. I love this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes