My Reviews (17)

Banana Cake with Caramel Pecan Icing

This moist, delicious layered banana cake has a heavenly caramel and pecan icing. A delightful treat!
Reviews (17)


06 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: foodaholic
I omitted nuts. This banana cake is OUT OF THIS WORLD. The caramel topping is a cross between frosting and glaze. I brought it to bubbling then poured over the cake and placed it under the broiler for a few minutes. I used more banana than the recipe called for and it came out very moist. (very ripe bananas as well)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: mayura
Lightly fragrant, moist, and soft. But this recipe seems to be missing some flavoring ingredients. I subbed cake flour for all purpose, used 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp margarine, 1/4 cup less sugar, and sour cream for the buttermilk. Also added 1/4 cup raisins, 1/2 tsp vanilla and coconut extract and omitted the frosting, it's sweet enough as is. Next time I'll add some cinnamon and 1/4 tsp salt too. Also, the cake is much better a day or two after baking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: aennil
I made this recipe with my exchange student and it turned out wonderful! I'm sure it would have been even better if I'd had a candy thermometer for the icing but, hey, it still worked out. It was great even a couple days after and I'm not sure about after that because it became very addicting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: natzsm
This recipe truly distinguishes a BANANA CAKE from simply banana bread. I baked mine in a 4 inch deep 8 inch round pan and just dumped all the batter in and it reached a little more than 1/2 of the pan. I checked at 3o minutes as the recipe recommends but the center was still soft so I slightly decreased the temp so it wouldn't brown too much and ended up baking it an additional 15 minutes or a total of 45 minutes. I used cake flour instead of all purpose and added an additional banana and it came out GREAT! No need for any glaze or frosting on this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: SHAWNAK
This cake is absolutely moist and delicious! It looks quite professional and tastes even better the next day. I made it yesterday and my family are ready for me to make another one. My 2 1/2 year-old loved the frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Snooplulu
This cake recipe is delicious, very moist. I used 4 bananas and used 3 cake pans for this one recipe. I extended the baking time by 15 minutes or when toothpick comes out clean. I made cream cheese frosting instead the caramel icing shown. Layered icing heavily between layers and on top. It taste like you would imagine Grandma's would taste, so home-made, moist, and rich. Cream Cheese Frosting: Two 8 ounce Cream Cheese Two cups Powdered Sugar One Stick Margarine One tsp. Vanilla Cream softened margarine, cheese, and sugar together Stir in vanilla So Good! Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Lisa Puma
WOW, is this sweet! Too sweet for me, although my husband loved it. I think I'll add some salt to the caramel frosting next time, to achieve more of the sweet/salty balance I associate with caramel. Other than the excessive sweetness (which is just a matter of personal preference), the cake was very good - moist and extremely flavorful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: LORILYNH
I made this cake according to the recipe, but added a chocolate ganache between the layers. It was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Raynell
This is the best banana cake I've had. This cake is so moist and delicious. I used a 9x13 pan and cooked it a few minutes more but checked it every minute or so. My family loved it!---- RaynellW
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Hissnspit
Made this the other day. Haven't baked for years so went into it with some trepidation; wasn't necessary. Instructions are comprehensive, easy to follow and produce exactly what is described. Cake was moist, tasty and well-received. What more can I say? Thank you Sherry_G.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes