My Reviews (581)

Spaghetti Bake

When I have a busy day ahead I make this for dinner in the morning or the day before then heat and serve to a happy family.
Reviews (581)


20 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Tricia Winterle Jaeger
I have been making this recipe for years! I have not found a person yet who doesn't like it. DO NOT CHANGE A THING! (Except seasoning it to your liking, i.e., garlic powder, oregano, italian seasoning...) This is not your typical "spaghetti casserole" and it's not meant to be. If you want regular spaghetti then make regular spaghetti. It kills me when people alter everything about the recipe in their reviews. Then it becomes something totally different. Do not substitute the tomatoes for ready-made sauce. You'll lose the whole idea of the recipe! Yes, cream of mushroom soup! It will not be the same with out it. It kind of acts as a sealer to keep the noodles from drying out. Great with garlic bread and even better the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: RANCHGIRL_59714
Due to others' reviews, i made some significant additions to the recipe, and it turned out great! With alterations as follows, everyone raved about the dish: I upped the green pepper (used a whole large pepper), used two cans of italian diced tomatoes, added one 8 oz can tomato sauce, almost doubled the mushrooms by using over 1/2 a lb of fresh, added 1 tsp italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper; I reduced the cheddar to one cup and added two cups of mozzarella, mixing them together; to the bottom layer of pasta I mixed in 1 jumbo raw egg, 1/2 cup parmasan cheese, and salt and pepper (to form a better "crust"); I had to up the water in the soup a bit (maybe to 1/3-1/2 c) and sprinkled basil, s & p over all. With these complicated sounding but really easy alterations, it was awesome! Served with crusty french bread, cesear salad, and the chocolate pudding pie off this site (see reviews).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: CHCOOPER
Very yummy recipe, but needed some help. Here are the changes I made: Used jarred sauce, mozzarella instead of cheddar and added sliced italian sausage (this was the best addition!). The cream of mushroom soup was a surprise but it really enhanced the flavor. Using the jarred sauce saved a lot of prep time and made this a relatively quick meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: VeronicaR.
Pretty good. I added garlic and salt to the meat. Next time I will not layer the food. I will mix everything together and slap it in the pan, top with parmesan then cook. Got too many spoonfuls of plain noodles. Hope these suggestion help.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: TCUELLAR
I wanted a new recipe that I could make for a potluck at work and use my crockpot as well. This one was great. I added 1 cup of spaghetti sauce to the meat, and precooked my noodles. I followed the recipe and layered it into my crockpot and let it cook all morning. By lunch time it was ready and by the end of lunch, there was none left. This was a great recipe and I will definalty use it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: CPREVOST
My family loved this recipe. I did what others suggested and went very heavy on the seasonings. Next time I will use more cheese and more cream of mushroom soup then the recipe calls for. The soup makes the spaghetti have a nice cream sauce to it. I just wanted it to have more sauce. I will make this one again soon!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: COURTNEYSUNSHINE
This was really good! I didn't have a lot of the ingredients so I had to substitue or leave out, but the idea was the same. I used spaghetti sauce instead of diced tomatoes, left out the canned mushrooms, and instead of Cheddar Cheese, I had a shredded Italian mixture on hand (Asiago, Mozzarella, etc.). The family loved it, even my 5 yr. old who claims she doesn't like spaghetti!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: DAVENEVE
This was great! We used a spicy pasta sauce instead of the tomatoes, and added two cloves of garlic, plus salt. A great recipe, and very easy to make. No complaints, it's wonderful, thanks for the recipe! We'll definitely be using it again soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: MIHAELA
Time consuming dish. I added extra mushrooms for more taste - still, not a memorable meal. A weekday family meal, but definitely not company fare.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: BARBIE0492
My family thought it was very bland. Will not try again - file 13.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes