My Reviews (4,500)

Baked Pork Chops

Pork chops are crumbed, fried then baked in the oven finally having a rich mushroom, cream and white wine sauce added.
Reviews (4500)


06 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Niffer
I made these pork chops for my boyfriend and I last Sunday. We both enjoyed them. I was worried that the breading would turn to mush, but it was fine. I omitted the wine completely and mixed the mushroom soup with a 1/2 cup of chicken broth instead. After I browned the chops in oil and placed them in the oven, I sauteed a vidalia onion and a bunch of fresh sliced mushrooms in broth and minced garlic. Smothered the pork chops with them before covering all with the mushroom soup/broth gravy. Only baked an additional 1/2 hour and they were cooked through and very tender. Served them with rice and green peas. It was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Pam Maxson Rodriguez
Tremendous flavor! Will make again and again! Thank you for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I didn't get to taste this, as I was out for the evening, however, my gang loved this recipe and told me so the moment I walked in. I used my mandolin and very thinly sliced three potatos which I seasoned with garlic and onion powder, pepper and a little italian seasonings and placed on the bottom of the casserole dish. I doubled the sauce and used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup and beer in lieu of the wine. After quickly frying the chops, I placed them on top of the potatos and immediately added the sauce and popped them in the oven for about an hour. Cooking time would most likely have been a little less had I preheated the oven sooner. Thanks so much Dawn!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Chey1
Very moist, tender, tasty pork chop is the end result. It's so nice to eat pork chops that are not dry! The coating & pan fry prior to baking, I believe, seals in the moisture so don't skimp on the initial steps. I like spice and not a lot of salt so mixed equal amounts of garlic powder, onion powder & celery salt for a rub prior to the dredging, egg, bread crumb coatings. Being cautious to avoid drying out the meat, I cooked covered for 1/2 hr.only then added the sauce as intructed for another 1/2 hr. Perhaps if using thicker cuts I may cook longer. I suggest using the white wine in your sauce - chardonnay works well for my cooking needs. It flavors the sauce which otherwise would be bland.**I buy the 4pk. of small wine bottles that are now sold in stores to avoid having to open a full bottle if not consuming the wine with dinner. You then have wine on hand for cooking anytime**
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Momof2
My husband is a big white meat eater....and chicken gets kinda boring after a while. His mom made him eat pork all the time....so when he hears pork is for dinner he does his yucky face. He took one bite of this and loved it. He had no idea pork could taste good again. Thanks for posting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: John OBrien
I use this site alot. I have found some really good recipe's. I do not usually take the time to rate any of them. This recipe is so good I really wanted to let Dawn (the author) any everyone else that wants a excellent Baked Pork Chop recipe. This is it. Note: my wife hates mushrooms and I had to substitute cream of chicken soup. EXCELLENT.*********
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: VICKIE B
YUMMY!!! I am a working mom and did this recipe in stages and it worked well. I breaded the chops in the morning and let cool. I made the wine/cream sauce and left in fridge. My daughter popped the chops in when she came home from school and 30 minutes later poured the cream sauce over. They were cooked with foil covering them and when I came home from work the house smelled great. Great taste - even leftover - will try again!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: LADYJAYPEE
These are good...nice flavor, good sauce, meat tender. I made it for two people and followed the recipe, except I cut the amount of milk in half and made that up by increasing the white wine by the same amount, for a little more wine flavor. Don't be afraid to leave them in the oven for the entire 90 minutes called for in the recipe because baking them that long does break down the meat (think "crockpot cooking" where that happens as well), so that it becomes tender (some reviewers have mentioned they were afraid to keep them in that long). Will make these again as a standby weeknight meal. PS: Have also made it using CHICKEN and it worked well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: GINNYG
WOW! All the reviews say it right..my husband and I could not stop eating these wonderful pork chops! Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Beth Farrelly Devoe
Gota go with the majority. This is excellent. I substitute a jar of chicken gravy or pork gravy which ever I have on hand, for the cream of mushroom soup. Give it a try!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes