My Reviews (4,500)

Baked Pork Chops

Pork chops are crumbed, fried then baked in the oven finally having a rich mushroom, cream and white wine sauce added.
Reviews (4500)


19 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: KELLY BORK
I normally don't care for pork chops, but decided to give this a try. It was excellent. I did change a few things though. I used 2 huge butterfly pork chops (instead of 6). I doubled the sauce-used 2 cans of cream of mushroom, 2/3rds cup of white wine (I used Chardonnay) and only used 3/4 cup of milk. I sauteed an onion in a tsp of oil first, then added the gravy mix. Heated that up and topped it over the chops. I also cut down the cooking time-45minutes/30minutes. Turned out increadibly tender. My husband had seconds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: AMARTIN24
I just made this last night and it was delicious! It definitely is not just another blah pork chops w/cr. of mushroom soup recipe. My picky 3 1/2 year old and 18 mth. old ate it up! I used 5 1-inch thick boneless chops - seasoned w/roasted garlic & pepper blend as well as Nature's Seasonings. Baked 45 min. I sauteed some onions and a can of mushrooms (didn't have fresh). We like a lot of sauce so I used a can of cr. of mushroom and a can of cr. of celery. Added 3/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup Chardonnay, sprinkled a bit of paprika, cayenne and parsley. Baked 25 minutes, then served over rice. Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Rebslo
I was NOT impressed with this recipe. The pork was tender but lacked a strong flavor. The steps to prepare it left a lot of dirty dishes too. The cooking time was as other reviewers mentioned off as well. I did 30 min before adding the soup mixture and 30 after.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: CSANDST1
There's always a few people out there who are in the minority when it comes to a great recipe and I'm one of them. My husband and I are not pork lovers but I thought I'd give this one a try. I made this with a pork tenderloin and lowfat/low sodium soup. Baked for 20 min. then poured on gravy and baked, loosely covered, for another 20. Meat was very tender but totally lacked flavor. I even added 1 T dried sage to gravy. It didn't help. Also, I did not bother using the olive oil when browning. Perhaps if I had followed the recipe the outcome would've been better. In any event, I won't be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: ~MELANIE ~
OK this is like the 10th time I have made these. The first time I made them they were AWESOME, so tender and juicy they fell off the bone, every other time I made them they didn't turn out tender like they did the 1st time. This is what i learned, DON"T use wicked thick pork chops, I used center pork chops w/bone. I used chops about 1inch thick, Make sure your oil and pan are hot before you add them. brown them well on both sides. I always double the soup, It gives you tons of sauce, but more the better. I also sauteed some fresh sliced mushrooms in the pan I fried the pork chops in then i added to the soup. The most important part of this is NOT to use wicked thick pork chops, they wont come out as tender as they should. I made this last night just like i said and again my husband said they were the best pork chops he has had. hope these tips help. this is definetly a keeper. thanks again dawn
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: JEN5502
I used apple juice instead of white wine and these were superb!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: judyg81
What a great recipe!!! I used boneless pork tenderloins, doubled the gravy using cream of chicken and mushroom soup, and chicken broth instead of the wine. I decreased the frying time to about 2-3 minutes per side and the baking time to 20 minutes/45 minutes with the soup mixture. (It required less time because the tenderloins were not very thick). I also followed the advice of other reviewers and sprinkled some french onion soup mix into the bread crumbs and all over the top of the dish after covering the pork with the soup mixture. The pork chops were so tender and moist and the gravy was delicious on mashed potatoes, too. The dish was very flavorful due to extra garlic powder and the french onion soup mix. My husband said, "this is the best pork chop recipe I've EVER had!" I have never seen him this enthused about any recipe! My extremely picky 9 year old loved it too. I, of course loved it and have included it in my family favorites. I find it very helpful to review the remarks of others for tips on modifying recipes. I'll be making this again soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: COMPEWTERKNUT
Like most cooks, I like recipes that are simple and to the point. If I don't have each and every ingredient in the cupboard, I improvise. This recipe turned out very good, even though I did not have all the required ingredients. I seasoned my pork chops with some garlic pepper after patting them dry, and proceeded to follow the directions to the letter, minus the wine. I have never been a huge pork chop fan, but I had a package of some center cut chops in the freezer, and decided to try a recipe from this site. The pork chops came out quite tender and tasty, and it's true...you won't need a knife to cut the chops. The breading on the chops was very good, and the gravy made from the soup and combined with the porkchop drippings, was excellent. Preparing the chops for the oven was not difficult, and the only "drawback" that I can find with making these chops is that it does require some extra cooking time, something we all don't seem to have any more. Make time for these chops. As I said, I did not use each and every ingredient in this recipe, and as far as I'm concerned, the integrity of the meal was not compromised. This is a great way to prepare the meat, and it went fast in my household. I will make this again, and have added it to my recipe box.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: 1BUSYMOMNTX
These were the BEST chops I've had in a long time! Thought it would be kind of bland, but not so at all! One of the things I changed was the cooking time, which I cut back to an hour total. After about 30 minutes of cooking, I added the gravy/sauce to finish off this dish. Otherwise, the pork gets tough and leathery. Also, I added more wine (about 3/4 cup), less milk (1/4 cup), to the soup, and it just POPPED with flavor!!! Make sure to really brown your chops too, so the breading doesn't get mushy. Oh my gosh! My six year old LOVED this! Served over rice makes an excellent meal. I don't agree with others who said this took too much time to make. Well worth the effort! Over a thousand people couldn't be wrong with this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: GETKARLA
This was excellent! My kids gobbled it up and asked for seconds. I love the wine flavor...next time I might pull back on the milk and add a little more wine. Also I agree with others that the time may be a bit off... my chops were boneless and about a 1/2 inch thick. I fried on high heat until crispy (prob only 2 mins on ea side not 5 as the recipe states). Then I baked them for 30mins w/o sauce and then 30mins with sauce. They were just perfect for us...tender, moist, and definitely not over cooked.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes