My Reviews (4,500)

Baked Pork Chops

Pork chops are crumbed, fried then baked in the oven finally having a rich mushroom, cream and white wine sauce added.
Reviews (4500)


15 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: PegCosgroveWhitney
Wonderful recipe just as written....although I did add 8 oz. of sautéed mushrooms to the soup mixture as we are big fans of shrooms. I also added a few small red potatoes, thinly sliced, under the chops in the baking dish. Potatoes absorbed all the pork flavor. yum!
 
14 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Meganlorraine
AMAZING Best ever recipe, the meat comes out melt in your mouth. Recommend to try this awesome recipe
 
07 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: HOLLY9000
I took some advice from pervious reviewers and made sure that I fried the chops until the outside was very crispy (make sure the oil is hot before adding the chops, makes a difference in how tender they turn out). I also doubled the gravy, and used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can golden mushroom. That really helped keep the dish from having that "some kind of meat covered w/cream of mushroom soup" taste. I also sauteed some fresh mushrooms in the pan I'd cooked the pork in and added them to the soup mixture. I added some extra garlic and just a couple dashes of cayenne. I cooked the chops for 20/20.....needed less cooking time I think cause I'd browned them so well. Turned out wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: GENEVAJ
I intended to submit this review two weeks ago & since then, my husband has requested this dish three more times. I did change a couple things. I baked for 35 minutes and warmed the sauce in a pot on the stove rather than pouring it over the chops. I also used cream of chicken rather than mushroom, since we're not mushroom fans and doubled the milk rather than using wine. It turned out fabulous. THANKS so much for this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: PRINCESS20NY
This smells great after you take it out of the oven, and the preperation wasn't as long as I thought it would be. I did not bake them for as long as the recipie called b/c I ran out of time. They were done after 35 min and everything tatsted great, very tender and juicy. The sauce textrue was "just right", not too watery and not too chunky. One suggestion I have is to make double the sauce if you like to dip the meat because you'll wish you had more after you try it. I substituted the white wine with Vermouth, and next time I am thinking of adding more of the Vermouth or white wine and taking away some of the milk. This I think will strenghthen the taste of the sauce to be even better as the wine/Vermouth seems to play a big part in the taste of the whole meal. A note of caution: be careful not to burn the pork chops when frying, keep the heat at med/high and check often, I "saved" them just in time . A+
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: GDOBRUSKY
Excellent recipe! Past reviewers that complain the dish is soggy possibly don't understand that the breading is INTENDED to soften up. I think the breading is just for a little color and flavor. It was not intended to stay crunchy while being baked in a lot of sauce. Anyway, I served this with mashed potatoes and asparagus and it was delightful. Only things I would clarify are that I used Lawry's brand seasoning salt, Chardonnay for the wine, and I only used 4 pork chops with the same amount of gravy in the recipe. The perfect amount was left to drizzle over the potatoes. Maybe a little more wine could be added next time. Thanks again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Breaded pork chops are always a hit with my husband and I've been making pork chops like this for years. I always use Italian style bread crumbs and just eyeball extra seasonings to add like garlic powder, cracked black pepper, dried parsley, Italian seasoning and some grated Parmesan cheese. I always dip my pork chops into the egg/milk mixture then the seasoned bread crumbs and then repeat that procedure (double dipping). This gives the pork a thick breading and keeps it moist while baking. To cut calories and time I spray the bottom of a glass baking dish with Pam, place the breaded pork in (no frying needed) then spray the pork with a little Pam, cook at 350 for 20 minutes, turn and cook for another 25 minutes. They'll come out moist and tender. This recipe has the pork cooking for way too long - it'll dry right out! And, there's nothing worse than dried out pork. I tried the soup mixture over top and well, it was OK. I poured it over half the chops during the last 15 minutes of cooking. I think I'll stick to the breaded pork chops without the soup mixture.....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Bayou Gator
Man......THESE PORK CHOPS ARE SLAMMING!!! I can't even describe how friggin good and tender they were!!! I followed the recipe, but I did make a few changes........of course. I followed some others' advice and added golden mushroom with the cream of mushroom. That, along with the white wine, is the key to this wonderful tasting dish. I also added some sauteed mushrooms and green onions to the sauce right before I poured it on the chops. Make sure you use a non-stick cooking spray on the bottom of the pan before you start baking so the coat on the pork chops doesn't stick. I served this along with the Angel Chicken Pasta recipe I found on here. It was a very rich meal, but worth every calorie we digested. Put it like this........I have a cousin who can not stand ANY VEGETABLE KNOWN TO MAN. You know what...........he had three servings the first night. That was one of the best compliments I could've gotten. Thank you Dawn for this better than OUTSTANDING RECIPE!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: BLUEBARRY1943
I love these folks who alter a recipe and when it comes out a disaster blame the initial recipe! The problem... dear folks is not the recipe...it's YOUR changes. I have used this recipe "as is" on several occasions for 20-36 people and I can assure you...IT ROCKS1 Let's be fair...if you alter a recipe accept the results and admit YOU messed up!.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: Jean in Honolulu
This was great! I too have a fear of making something that tastes like your greasy spoon tasteless meat & canned mushroom soup. So--using someone's idea of boneless chops, I doused the chops with bottled minced garlic, rubbed them with a bit of Kitchen Bouquet, used sour cream instead of milk, used Lindeman's Chardonnay(an inexpensive but but very good Australian wine, threw in about 1 or 2 T sweet Hungarian paprika, & a lot of fresh, sliced, sauteed mushrooms. Did all that make it any better than the original? Don't know, but I do know it got rave reviews. Thanks, Dawn--I've already done this 2x for company, & will do it again till I've run through my list of friends. Jean in Honolulu
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes