My Reviews (430)

Rhubarb and Walnut Muffins

Rhubarb is a great source of vitamin K and calcium. Try some in these rhubarb muffins that are easy to make and taste fantastic.
Reviews (430)


05 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: JENARM
Read all the reviews and made them just as written except I didn't have buttermilk on hand and couldn't shop, so I put 2 tsp of vinegar in a cup of milk and let it set up. Muffins smelled so fabulous and were delicious. Only drawback was I couldn't stop licking the batter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
I believe between the three of us, Aunt Norma, charliebabe (the submitter) and me, these muffins made rhubarb lovers out of a number of Floridians who had never tasted the stuff before! I deliberately brought some of my garden rhubarb in Wisconsin down to our place in Naples, FL as I wanted to treat the folks here. I am so pleased that these muffins showcased this “pie plant” so well! I had no fresh buttermilk on hand, but buttermilk powder proved to be a worthy substitute. Because of the brown sugar, they are a rich, caramel color. And because I mixed the batter only till combined, leaving behind some lumps, they were light, tender and fluffy. The amount of rhubarb was just right – sometimes I find rhubarb baked goods (apple too, for that matter) that are too heavy with the fruit, with very little “cake.” It probably is just a subjective thing, but my preference would be to make these without the walnuts – I found the flavor of them a little distracting. As for the topping, it is buttery, cinnamon sweetness, but it’s a good thing I got 18 muffins with my muffin tins rather than 24, as I don’t think there would have been enough topping for another six! Just excellent, with old-fashioned homemade appeal and I believe these would be just as good using other fruits if rhubarb is not available.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2009
Reviewed by: Miss.Shannon
A very nice recipe. I added an extra cup of rhubarb and more cinammon. Especially good with coffee! I will make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: jillymac
Delicious!! I did make a few changes to the recipe. I used 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder to make them a little more fluffy. I also didn't have buttermilk so I put 1 tbsp. of white vinegar in a 1 cup measuring cup and filled the rest with milk and let it stand for 5 minutes. I used 2 cups of rhubarb and it was perfect. I also omitted the walnuts because I'm not a big fan. These were the BEST MUFFINS I've made in a while (and I bake a lot of muffins!!). I'll definitely be making these again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2012
Reviewed by: Lorrie
do not change a thing to this recipe unless you are like me and love cinnamon. 1 tsp (or 1 tbsp if you are like me) of cinnamon is a wonderful compliment to this already great muffin. Muffins are my specialty and people would buy them in the dozens in my cafe. I can tell you 2 bowls are NOT necessary. Add all your dry ingredients into a large bowl to start. Stir to ensure baking powder and soda are completely mixed into the flour. Then drop in wet ingredients on top. Stir JUST UNTIL MOIST! Using a fork, continue to fold in dry ingredients into the wet in the centre of the bowl. When you don't see any more dry ingredients STOP! Batter will be thick. If your muffins are always tough, you are stiring them too long and with too much "stir". Be gentle. Don't stir the air out of them. (if you don't have butter milk, just add 1 tbsp of white vinegar or lemon juice into your milk and let sit while you add all the other ingredients). thank you so much for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Marie-Ange
These are absolutly delicious. I replaced the oil by Apple Sauce to make them less fatening. Excellent
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: vegatarian
I loved them! YUM! Quite possibly the best muffins I've ever had. I used 2 cups of rhubarb.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: cooks4forty
My whole family loved these - and I even snuck in whole wheat flour for half of the flour. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Kysonsmom
These muffins are FANTASTIC! I made a couple of little changes to them though. -I added 1 tsp cinnamon to the batter. -I used 1 cup chopped rhubarb (frozen) and 1 cup chopped strawberries (fresh). -And for the topping I used a different recipe from my favorite muffins: 1/3 cup packed brown sugar 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1 tablespoon butter All in all this may be my new favorite muffin! Thanks Aunt Norma
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: bakingmaster
There mightn't be a better use of rhubarb! These muffins are absolutely gorgeous. The crumbly topping is a must. I could see how you could leave out the walnuts if wished, or another nut like almonds, pecans or hazelnuts would work well. Make these, you won't regret it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes