My Reviews (726)

Streusel Coffee Cake

This coffee cake has a delicious streusel crumb topping of butter, flour and sugar that bakes with the cake during the cooking process.
Reviews (726)


20 May 2005
Reviewed by: LucyDelRey
I made the cake EXACTLY as indicated, however I increased the batter by doubling the it because I wanted a thicker cake. The results were perfect!!! For those who had problems with the streusel topping sinking into the batter and cracking during the baking process, follow the simple step. After preparing the topping, place the entire bowl (not the batter) into the freezer for several hours or overnight. Remix with a fork until they resemble small crumbs. Sprinkle on top of cake batter. Pat down gently with a large spatula (especially the corners) to ensure the topping "sticks" to the batter and also to even the cake out. I baked mine at 325 degrees instead of 350 and the cake baked and rose more evenly. Take a look at my photo. The cake was delicious and disappeared very quickly!! Thank you Mary for the recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2003
Reviewed by: DISHDISH
LET ME FIRST SAY THAT THIS COFFEE CAKE IS DELICIOUS!!!! I HAVE NEVER TASTED A COFFEE CAKE LIKE THIS BEFORE. BEFORE TRYING THIS RECIPE I DID READ ALOT OF THE REVIEWS AND TOOK IN TO ACCOUNT SOME OF THE THINGS THAT WERE SAID, SUCH AS NOT ENOUGH STREUSEL AND THE STREUSEL MELTING INTO THE CAKE. I REMEDIED BOTH, I USED 1/2 CUP OF FLOUR, 1/2 CUP OF WHITE SUGAR AND 1/2 CUP OF BROWN SUGAR (KEPT THE BUTTER THE SAME) FOR THE STEUSEL, IT MADE MORE THAN ENOUGH, I ALSO DID'NT PUT THE STREUSEL ON UNTIL IT WAS COMPLETELY DONE. I PUT THE STEUSEL ON AND COVERED THE PAN (9X9) WITH ALUMINUM FOIL AND THAT MOISTENED THE STREUSEL I THEN PRESSED IT DOWN JUST A BIT. I ALSO ADDED A BIT OF CINNAMON TO THE FLOUR FOR THE BATTER AND IT ALL TURNED OUT GREAT!!!! THANKS MARY
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: So Cal Gal
I used an 8 x 8" pan and put half of the streusel in the middle and half on the top. I used 1/3c white sugar and 1/3 c brown sugar to make up the 2/3c sugar for the streusel. I baked it for 40 minutes. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: BLUESILVERGOLD
The streusel topping melted during baking so, now I add it towards the last 10 mins of baking. I have made this cake several times with no additions or ingredient changes and it was never dry. Try rotating the baking pan at the halfway point of the baking time and then check five minutes before the end of the recommended baking time with a cake tester or toothpick. There should be very few crumbs adhering to the tester when the cake is ready. Hope this helps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2002
Reviewed by: ROWNEYK
I really enjoyed the taste of this coffee cake but it should have been made in a 9 x 9 pan. There didnt seem to be enough batter for 13 x 9. Also I think a little less butter in the topping would make it crunchier. The topping melted into the cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: JENNYOUNG
Excellent and Easy! The only alterations I made were to use a 9 inch round springform pan and baked for 35 minutes, increased milk by 2 Tbsp. and used 1/3c white sugar and 1/3 c. brown sugar in topping, rather than all white sugar. This was a hit with my kids and guests. So easy and uses always-on-hand pantry items.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: C_WHITES_
Delicious! Try it for yourself, don't trust the bad reviews. I halved the recipe and made it in a 8x8 in. pan--I still used one whole egg and added milk to make 1/2 cup. I also made a full batch of topping using brown sugar instead of white. It took a few extra minutes to cook and a few minutes for the topping to set. I did not follow the directions for mixing the cake--just did it as you would any other cake and creamed the butter with the sugar, etc. Quick, easy, tasty, and uses ingredients you always have on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
Quick easy and tasted great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2010
This is a perfect morning cake! Delicious, fluffy and super simple. Made it in a 9inch round pan...planned to use the 9x13 but didn't look like it would be enough. It was perfect in the round pan! Layered the topping and added some chopped walnuts to the top. Couldn't have been better! ( take it out before the top starts to brown and it will be super moist, and addicting!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: SHELS77
This was a good coffee cake that hit the spot for brunch. I added a 1/4 C of chopped walnuts to the topping mixture. As one reviewer noted, there doesn't seem to be enough batter for a 9x13 pan but it can be done through a little bit of elbow grease-- the batter is sticky and hard to spread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes