My Reviews (27)

Warm Capsicum, Mushroom and Pasta Salad

Using angle hair spaghetti this easy side dish includes capsicum and mushrooms in a ginger rice wine dressing.
Reviews (27)


28 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: MARGOLS
If I could have, I would have given this ten stars on the quickness rating. Start to finish, this recipe takes no more than 15 minutes, and it's really easy and delicious. I added a tablespoon of brown sugar to the dressing, as it was quite sour. That really rounded it off well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: DABDAB
WOW!!! This was great and so easy to prepare. I included a teaspoon of toasted sesame oil for a little more Asian flavor and doubled the fresh ginger, as I can never get enough. An instant favorite!!!! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: BANSREEPARIKH
I'm rating this recipe even though I actually made so many changes that it's not really the same recipe at all. I made the dressing first. I mixed the rice wine vinegar and the soy sauce and added 1 1/2 tablespoons of brown sugar. We're very calorie conscious, so instead of adding the oil to the dressing, I grilled some diced tofu in one tablespoon of sesame oil. After the tofu was basically grilled, I added some diced onions and added the mushrooms (I used button mushrooms, which were good, but next time I'll try to use shitakes). I grilled all of this together and then added the whole mixture to the dressing marinade and let the tofu and mushrooms soak up the flavor of the dressing. I then boiled up the pasta and added some bell peppers at the very end of the boiling time. After draining, I mixed the pasta in with the dressing mixture, and mixed it all up and let it sit for about 10 minutes for the flavors to absorb into the pasta. MMMMMMMMM...it was so good! So, as you can see, I didn't actually follow the recipe that much, but what I made turned out really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: lutzflcat
I used 1/2 Tbsp each sesame and chili oils instead of vegetable oil which gave the dressing some zing. I just couldn't see boiling the cremini mushrooms, so I sauteed the mushrooms and red pepper strips. Also, garnished with sliced green onions instead of parsley (chopped peanuts would be yummy, too). I do think that this needs more veggies (any kind that suits you) because 8-oz of capellini is a lot of pasta. The warm pasta was like a sponge and soaked up ALL of the dressing. The chilled leftover salad will need to have a little dressing added, otherwise, it's going to be too dry. Good noodle salad, but I really can't say that there's anything to distinguish it from others that I've had. And that's not to say that we didn't enjoy it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Kitkat
Easy and my husband, who is on a low-fat, low-sugar diet said we could have it again. I took the leftovers for lunch and it reheated nicely. Added mushrooms & green onion
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2006
Reviewed by: Kym Cox Surridge
This recipe wasn't bad, but it wasn't spectacular. There wasn't much that was unique about it--I've had other Asian pasta dishes that were similar but better. It was very easy to prepare, though. I modified it somewhat: I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil, and I marinated the mushrooms and peppers in the dressing and had them raw instead of boiled. I also added some soaked arame to make it a little more interesting. I don't plan on keeping this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Mike
Good and very easy. I added sesame oil, sesame seeds, and red chili peppers to recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: susiekew
4 1/2 stars, if that was possible. An easy, attractive, and fairly tasty side dish or coupd be a vegetarian main course with the addition of more vegetables (I'm thinking snow peas, maybe a yellow pepper or yellow zucchini, and maybe some diced tofu). Might try sesame oil instead of vegetable oil next time. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: loriann
this is good recipe and I will cook again. I did not like the parsey in it. I added carrots and green onions. It is all on person preference. It is one you can play with. Overall, very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: HYGEIA
This is a wonderful recipe and very quick and easy to prepare. Shiitake mushrooms weren't available, so I used Cremini mushrooms as suggested. I made this for an event and received rave reviews. I will definitely make this again when I can get the Shiitake mushrooms.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes