My Reviews (18)

Spicy Sultana Apple Cake

The stewed apples in this cake recipe create a moist and delicious crumb, while the cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg give it an earthy homey flavour.
Reviews (18)


12 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Minnesota Kris
I disagree with previous raters about the heaviness - I made two modifications: added 1/2 tsp of salt and used TWO baking pans, one 9X9 and the other 9X13. The final product was light, moist and very tasty. I would definitely use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I cut this recipe in half. I did not add nuts only because I didn't have any. I made muffins out of this recipe. I got exactly 12 muffins out of one recipe. Very moist and flavorful quick bread recipe, we liked this a lot. GREAT with a hot cup of coffee. I think I could cut back on the sugar by at least half next time and not miss it at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: COOKING4MYBOYS
This recipe is great! You pretty much just through every thing together and it comes out great, the only thing I disliked about it was that it took so long in the oven, it's such a low heat that it takes a while. But the texture was great and we all loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: JOAN
I did this in a glass pan and it took longer about an hour. I also used chunky applesauce. I also topped it with a carmel frosting. It was wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: SHAREENC
This cake is very moist and needs no frosting. It is great when cut in blocks and wrapped in plastic for our lunches.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: 9MOJO
Very dense cake amd would be really good to come home to on a blustery wet day!!! I thought it would taste good with a thick cream cheese icing!!! Made the house smell real spicy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Wyattdogster
My husband went nuts over this cake! It's very flavorful and moist, and it really doesn't need any frosting. I think of it as a 'snack' cake, good for lunch boxes and great with a cup of coffee for breakfast. I used 2 cups white whole wheat flour and 2 cups AP and it was still a very moist cake and slightly healthier version. I cut back on the sugar to 1 and 2/3 cup, still sweet enough for us. I also added a bit of salt. I thought maybe I should add some vanilla, but it is just fine without it. Next time I might bake it in a jelly roll pan...this cake is very tall and takes near an hour to bake. In spite of that extra cooking time, the cake did not dry out on the edges or the top at all. One more thing...I would suggest baking this a day ahead...it is so much better today and it slices much easier too. Love this cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2002
Reviewed by: CHIP007
While this cake was good, it was way too heavy (for me). Plus the cooking time needed an additional 30 minutes. The consistency reminded me of a bread pudding recipe we have in the family. For now, I will continue to use my Fannie Farmer recipe. It WAS GOOD. Just didn't care for the denseness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Bob100123
Bad, bad, bad. Not worth the trouble to modify the recipe. There are numerous great recipes available.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: VTracy
We halved the recipe and added 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of baking powder and baked it in a 9x9 at 350 for about 35 minutes. It's beautiful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes