My Reviews (11)

Apple, Date and Sultana Cake

Stewed apples are added to this fruit cake to keep it moist. Rather than buying a mixed fruit blend I make my own including cherries, sultanas, dates and walnuts.
Reviews (11)


19 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: PURSEAUS52
I have made this recipe twice already, and everyone absolutely loves it!! I like it for the fact that there is not one bit of citron/candied fruit in it. Everything is "natural", and the added applesauce gives the cake an excellent moist texture and taste to it. I'm not a big "cloves" or "allspice" person, so I added a "pinch" more of cinnamon, and it still came out great. I also can't eat walnuts, but added more dates, raisins and cherries to the mix, and you couldn't even notice the nuts weren't in the cake. I plan on making this cake for Christmas, and the best part is that whatever is left (which there usually isn't any) I can wrap in plastic wrap and freeze! This recipe is definitely something worth trying!! I love it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2003
Reviewed by: CLOVERDALE1
Okay but forget the cherries, I didn't and was disapointed
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: snakeseare
Excellent, subbed dried apples for dates, moist and light.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: sgp
I always made the fruitcake with the mincemeat and sweetened condensed milk; but this year I decided to try this, because I had a lot of applesauce leftover from something else. It is wonderfully moist with the right balance of spices. This is my new tradition!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Robyn
Delicious! Moist and spicy. I didn't use cherries or nuts, and I think I like it that way. Yum, yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2018
Reviewed by: Carrie
I have made this a couple times now. It is absolutely fabulous. No adjustments necessary
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2018
Reviewed by: janie
I made this exactly as written - I made this for a Fundraising Bake sale - I cut in to 6 BIG wedges and it sold fast ! It also freezes nicely and will serve 20-24 people.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2018
Reviewed by: L Dillard
Very simple recipe. The applesauce makes it moist. I added dried cranberries too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: Cari
Made this exactly as recipe states, fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: Cynthia
One slice is never enough. Easy to make and delish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes