My Reviews (12)

Almond Sprinkled Angel Food Cake

Angle cake is a very light cake that is surprisingly white in its appearance. This version has chopped almonds sprinkled over the top before being baked.
Reviews (12)


20 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: JEFFREY G
I found this a tad too sweet for my palate, but the wife loved it! It gets an extra star just for that!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Chef Remi
Just a note on the chopped almonds. One cup is way to many. I just eyed it and sprikled them on. It turned out to be a little under a half a cup. Other than that this is a GREAT recipe and all who have eaten it when I made it loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Kristy
This is the first angel's food cake i have ever made and it turned out wonderful. I don't think I beat the egg whites long enough because it was not as fluffy as I have previously had. Also I did not have almonds so I used pecans instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: KitchenWitch
This is a very good recipe. The cake itself is moist and delicious, with that slight egg-foam taste that I love in an angel food cake. I opted to put the chopped almonds in the bottom of my tube pan and spooned the batter over them so that they would be on top of the finished cake. It worked out just fine, though next time I may chop the almonds finer so it's easier to cut. Everyone enjoyed this
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Sara Petty
Take a box of Angel Food Cake mix (just the contents of the box, no need to follow the directions on the box), & combine it with a 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple in its own juice. (No need to use a mixer, just stir it with a spoon) When you do this, something magical happens. The mixture starts to froth & it turns into an amazingly airy, fluffy bowl of deliciousness right before your eyes. Once it's all mixed up,grease and simply pour it into a 9 x 13 cake pan & bake 350 for 30 minutes
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: mihow
I did not have a tube pan. I used a spring-loaded cake pan (without the center hole) and baked it for 30 minutes. It worked perfectly. Also, I cut back a wee bit on the sugar. I used 3/4 cups instead of 1 cup. It tastes amazing. I also eyeballed the addition of almonds on top. Also, don't be afraid to whip the heck out of those egg whites! SO GOOD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Val
I made this last Christmas. Love the flavour of this! Light dessert but flavourful. I used the tip to put the topping in bottom of springform pan, worked perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: j
this was my first time making this cake and it came out well. It is a little too sweet. it was very easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Errica B Hutty
I made my angel food cake without the almonds and almond extract (didn't have any on hand) using this recipe and followed the directions of the angel food cake video. This is my first time using this recipe and it came out deelish!!!!(as Rachel Ray would say). It's doesn't tastes sweet to me. I didn't have any cake flour so I made my own watching a homemade cake flour recipe on Youtube. Everything came together really, really good. Good thing my son and I are the only ones who like angel food cake so there will be leftovers. My daughter will not demolish it like she usually do when it comes to cakes. My daughter can eat anything and will not gain weight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Stefanie Frank Stewart
Tasted really good but mine fell! I put the almonds in the bottom of the pan and I wonder if they were too heavy for it when I inverted the pan. Didn't look perfect but did taste great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes