My Reviews (12)

Amaretti Macaroons

This macaroon recipe is a traditional Italian recipe for weddings and Christmas. You can make some variations with the decorations to make it more festive.
Reviews (12)


11 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: MEGDOBSONINS
Was seeking Italian Cookie called "pizzacotti" and found this. It was a hit at the holiday cookie making party. Doubled the recipe for tons. Great shape, holds form, packs well and YUMMIE. Used almond meal and sweetened dried cranberries for the festive top. Great special occassion cookie and EASY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Mary Louise Whitlow
These are wonderful! I had some egg whites and some sliced almonds I wanted to use. I am so glad I found this recipe. I put my sliced almonds in the blender to grind them and it worked great; the only thing is that my cookie dough was so soft there was no way I could form balls. Dropping the dough by teaspoonfuls onto parchment covered cookie sheets worked very well; since I did not want to roll them in extra sugar anyway. BIG HINT: do not remove the cookies from the parchment paper until they are cool; if not they fall apart! Connie thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: ~*Dreamer*~
Fantastic cookie! One of my absolute favourites. Decorate with a red candied cherry at Christmas and they look like Rudolph's nose :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jennifer Johnson
Fabulous. I made a half batch and I didn't bother to beat the egg whites - just stirred everything together with a rubber spatula and scooped onto a parchment lined cookie sheet. It took about 20 minutes to bake to perfection. I also added some vanilla extract and didn't bother to do the almond on top but I might next time. Tastes like marzipan!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2012
Reviewed by: Ignazia Vella
come out real good
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: lisajcox
Did not care for this cookie. My husband and I both agreed that the flavor was not horrible, but there were way too many nuts, which made them too chewy. Not sweet at all, either. Glad I did a trial run before my cookie exchange!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Kim Elle
I love Italian cookies and as I am not Italian I had asked my girlfriend for her mothers recipe. As I was still waiting I thought I might try these. All I can say is wow! These taste exactly like the ones my friends mom makes (and yes she is 100% Italian; doesn't speak English) I didn't have any almond extract so I decided to use a liqueur. A couple tablespoons of Amaretto did the trick. Firm on the outside, soft on the inside and loads of flavor. I will definitely be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: Holly Anderson Gore
Not sure what you’re supposed to do with the chopped almonds, so I just left them out. There is also no baking time included with this recipe. I baked the first batch for 25 minutes but that was a bit too long. For me, 20 minutes seemed perfect. These cookies are absolutely delicious, Not too sweet and very chewy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: Barb
This was not good. Waste of time and money. No way this could be rolled into a ball. Just a mess. Had to keep adding ground nuts to thicken it up. No indication of how long to cook them, just had to experiment. Very disappointing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: cbaron
First time making these. So delicious and quick to make. I cut the sugar down by one cup. Still sweet enough especially when still rolled in sugar before baking. Will definitely make again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes