My Reviews (12)

Almond and Jam Slice

This is an almond slice containing coconut and jam that can be used as a dessert, finger food at parties or as a lunch box snack.
Reviews (12)


11 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: 181-123
Ya!! I have been looking for this recipe for a couple of years. This was a slice made once a month for our lunch box's. Lost the recipe after Mum passed away. Thank you so much. XXXX OOOO
 
22 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: SHERRIHALL
These came out wonderful and even my 13 year old son thought they were easy to make (never too young to teach males how to cook!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: WENDY DYSO;N
Very delicious and everyone wants the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: OMAHAKATE
These bars are very unusual, but very good. I used walnuts since I didn't have almonds, but the nuts aren't the key ingredient, as the name suggests. The jelly you choose is probably going to be the most pronounced flavor, so pick something you really like! I used seeless red raspberry, and that seemed to go well with the coconut flavor. Very unique!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2003
go easy on the almond, or it's blinding
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: ANN-CHARLOTTE
Yummy! Everybody loved them at the party!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2003
Reviewed by: Gwen Langham Howell
very rich and yummy! I doubled the recipe and baked in a 15X10. I used seedless red raspberry jam. Thanks Carol! Sorry I just realized I rated the wrong recipe! I have not tried this I should have rated berry almond bars. I will try this one soon though. Sorry for the confusion!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2008
Reviewed by: MARIAM
I was looking for a recipe that my mom used to make during our childhood, that sounded very much like this one, with the almonds, jam and meringue layer. I was so looking forward to making it, but unfortunately, it was not that good. Does not taste much like almonds, the crust was wayy to thick for one tray, I had to divide it into an 8X8 pyrex pan and a pie plate. Did the same with the meringue filling, because when it's too thick, it stays creamy inside, and often could taste very eggy. I made sure the meringue dried out in the oven, to make sure no eggy taste is left in it. Anyway, I am so sorry to say, it was not a hit in my family. My dad and husband thought they tasted good, but all other members of the family didn't care for it. I often make meringue cookies, but this tastes nothing like them. Sorry
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: FiddleTrish
This was an excellent recipe but I do have one caveat. I doubled the recipe with great results, trying to plan ahead for my sons' school lunches .... alas, it did not occur to me that meringue toppings don't freeze very well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: jmccooking
Just made this recipe and it was a big hit at the party I went to. I used raspberry as the jam and added extra slivered almonds and coconuts. I also sprinkled coconuts on top to give it that golden. Once I finished baking the dish and cooling it off, I drizzled some carmel on top. I wasn't able to get almond extract, so I used amaretto and cooked it in a pan for a minute or two to burn off some of the alcohol off, except I think you really need to add more than 1/4 tsp to give it that almond flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes