My Reviews (11)

Homemade Gooseberry Jam

If you can get gooseberries or pick your own, try making this classic gooseberry jam. Liquid pectin is a vegan product, derived from apple pectin.
Reviews (11)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CHEFSINGLEDAD
Delicious! I'd never tasted a gooseberry before, and wasn't sure what to expect. My jam turned out great, perfect sweet/tart combo, and such a beautiful colour. My family loves it too!
 
30 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: NMCOPE
Delicious! I'd never tasted a gooseberry before, and wasn't sure what to expect. My jam turned out great, perfect sweet/tart combo, and such a beautiful color. My family loves it too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Becky
Not having a food mill, I crushed my berries in a food processor on "chop". Nice texture, good jam consistency, delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Tammy
this recipe was GREAT! I have gooseberries growing on my property my jam was not as dark as the picture here, (maybe different types of gooseberries?) mine was a lovely rose color i left the seeds in and it was just fine! you really cant even tell they're in there. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
13 Aug 2009
Probably a really stupid question, but is it possible to freeze this jam and leave out the pectin? Would freezing remove the need for pectin? How long will it keep for? Thanks in advance Mark
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: JOLLYWA
To Cloverdale: I know your post is a year old, but I just wanted to say that, yes, there actually ARE do-overs when it comes to jam that did not set well. You just dump all the jam out of the jars into a jam pot. Bring to a full, rolling boil. Cook for just 30 secs. Remove from heat. Add in more pectin.Add more pectin (I would suggest perhaps the rest of the package?). Stir and skim for 5 minutes. Put back into clean, sterilized jars. Note that liquid pectin called for in this recipe and the powder or crystal kind are no interchangeable. The crystal pectin generally calls for less fruit and less sugar for 1 packet than will be called for in a recipe using liquid. Also, double check the size of the pectin. It used to come in 6 ounce bottles, which is what this recipe is referring to. It calls for 1/2 of a 6 ounce bottle or 3 ounces. Today, liquid pectin is usually in 3 ounce pouches, so you would use a full pouch. If you want to make jelly, you cannot just substitute an equal quantity of juice for the fruit. Jelly making is another whole art and uses different recipes. Usually more sugar and more pectin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: diggity
I followed the recipe on the sure jell and used the low sugar kind. My mom has gooseberries and I wanted to use them to see how they tasted. I enjoy them on the bush but had never cooked with them. I didn't like the jelly. My mom and dad love the jelly. I guess it's up to your taste buds! I also didn't use the skin or seeds. I put them in a juicer and only used the juice. It is a very pretty color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Cloverdale
Good flavor, but you may want to add more pectin. I had fantastic gooseberries, but this recipe produced a runny product. Unfortunately, there are no "do-overs" when making jam.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: kenneth40
TRIED USING RED GOOSEBERRIES, AMAZING RESULT, PERFECT. 4STARS
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
09 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: Sheila Vollum Doll
This worked just as described. I have saved and will be making again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes