My Reviews (356)

Pumpkin and Sultana Muffins

An easy muffin that uses stewed pumpkin along with apples, walnuts, sultanas and a range of spices such as nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves.
Reviews (356)


29 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: lobashi
i didn't want to rate this recipe with stars because i made a lot of changes (thus a rating technically wouldn't be accurate), but i couldn't submit a review without a rating, so i'm giving it 5 stars for versatility. i scaled the recipe down to 12 muffins, used 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup all-purpose flour, used starfruit (carambola) pulp instead of applesauce, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree, and used ginger instead of nutmeg (didn't have any). i also added 4 tbsp of whole flax seed for a nutty texture. The muffins rose nicely, were very fluffy and not dense. They were just faintly sweet, which which i prefer (i don't have much of a sweet tooth). i used paper liners, and the only drawback was that the muffins stuck to the liners. next time i would use a non-stick spray. but overall, great recipe to start with. i've included a picture as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: COOKIEMONSTER803
These just came out of the oven, and they're wonderful! I made a few changes to make them even healthier: cranberries instead of raisins, 2 cups of white flour and 2 3/4 cups of an equal mix of ground flaxseed, oatmeal and whole wheat flour, and only 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of Splenda. The muffins came out very moist and are still sweet (which is saying a lot, since I have the biggest sweet tooth ever!). I will definitely make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: SHYLYCENTRALRAIN
These muffins are a staple in our household. I use whole wheat flour instead of white and chocolate chips instead of raisins. I also just do 2 1/4 t cinnamon and 2 1/4 t nutmeg (I don't do the ground cloves.) It's a great healthy snack. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2006
Reviewed by: Emily Beggs Claus
I cut this recipe in half. I used 1 c whole wheat flour, 1 cup all purpose flour and 1/2 cup ground flax seed. egg beaters, and 1/2 c splenda 1/2 c reg sugar.They were plenty sweet! Very moist, high fiber and filled with good stuff. I love this recipe..it was very easy to convert to a healthy recipe. I did not use paper liners. I used a nonstick muffin pan..they came out beautifully.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Shelly K.
ADDICTIVE is right!!! My picky two-year old and I absolutely love these muffins. Very nutritious. Even better after being in the freezer. I found it was much easier to just grease the muffin pans and not use the paper cups. I spent too much time peeling the muffins from the paper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: linnygirl
This was my first time to make muffins w/o oil and they were amazing. I did make a few changes though. I substituted molasses for the raisins because my kids won't eat them and used an egg replacer. I also used half whole wheat flour and half unbleached and also used half sugar substitute and half sugar. Next time I will try adding shredded carrots to knock back some of the sugar without having to add a substitute. Wonderful and nutritious muffins!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: karate_coach
These are excellent! I made half a batch and they were all gone by the next day, I used whole wheat instead of white flour, and half Splenda/half Splenda Brown Sugar Blend instead of sugar. I also left out the nuts for my son's who is allergic. I made mini muffins which only took about 12 minutes to bake. So tasty!! The whole famiky could not get enough!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Christine
These are sooooo yummy, but I made some modifications - personal preference. I use whole wheat flour and cut way back on the sugar. I also use egg substitute. Fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: KBOVER
Good and easy. My hubby likes it better without the raisins, so I make half the batch without and half with and that way, my muffins have more raisins. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: LovesCheese
Wonderful!! I used less sugar per other reviews (about 3/4 cup rather than 1 1/3 cups for 1/3 the recipe), otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I don't understand any of the negative reviews!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes