My Reviews (141)

Brotchen Rolls

A chewy German roll that has a firm outer crust. These rolls are made with only the whites of the eggs and are great with soups, stews or just eaten as a snack.
Reviews (141)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
AMARYLLISS1 said:
Something else. I´ve been living in germany for 21 years now, and this recipe is very good. But to make them more authentic, lightly slice the rolls lengethwise and then add the egg wash.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MARISTA
Definetly took a while, but it was worth it. Had lots of my German friends come over and everyone loved it and said it tasted just like German Brotchen. Made 33, had 10 guests, and all the rolls were gone at the end of the evening. Just make sure you put the eggwash on just a second before putting them into the oven. Any earlier and they won't turn out very shiny.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: JENNIFEREBY
I'm German and these are awesome. Thanks for sharing.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: BROMFIELD
After living in Germany for 5 years and searching for a brotchen recipe, I am happy with this one as being authentic.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: CHERYLCARNEGIE
these were soooooo good! My family loved them. It was not easy, but then again, it was my first time making bread. Thanks for such a yummy recipe!
 
10 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: JACKDIVER
I´ve been living in germany for 21 years now, and this recipe is very good. But to make them more authentic, lightly slice the rolls lengethwise and then add the egg wash.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: SILVER_WINGS3
Definetly took a while, but it was worth it. Had lots of my German friends come over and everyone loved it and said it tasted just like German Brotchen. Made 33, had 10 guests, and all the rolls were gone at the end of the evening. Just make sure you put the eggwash on just a second before putting them into the oven. Any earlier and they won't turn out very shiny. A++++++
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: BZGUNTER
After living in Germany for 5 years and searching for a brotchen recipe, I am happy with this one as being authentic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: EPARKS
I have been searching many websites for authentic texture of german brotchen. It is obvious many have not tried the real thing. This recipe is as close as I have come, the texture is correct. Now I just have to shape them correctly, and get the right crust.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Debsdolls
These rolls are the very best you can make at home. The ice in the oven makes the crust just like a bakery. I will make this again. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes