My Reviews (44)

Plum Topped Cake

When plumbs are in season I make this easy cake all the time. A simple cake mixture is made and placed in the tin then the halved plums are laid out on top before baking.
Reviews (44)


04 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Juebob
Easy to make and very tasty - Have frozen some for winter desserts
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Debsrecipes
A fabulously easy but very tasty cake, thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
09 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: ThatOli
Made this late last night, super quick and easy...my kind of baking! I don't own a cake tin so used a lasagne dish, took about 30mins to cook in that. My plums must be large too *giggles* coz if id used 12 they would of been stacked on top of each other...think i used 6 cut into chunks (because it went into a tray rather than round tin it wasn't very thick/deep so chunks were a better option) Would recommend this for anyone looking for something tasty without much faffing about and am saving this one to bake again
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: purejammyc
This was easy and really tasty. Will make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
01 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: BrendaJeanTaylor
Brilliant. I am a very novice baker... and this cake was so very easy to make, and it tastes beautiful. The sponge was so wonderfully soft. Very pleased with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
17 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Dylanesque
I have just made this and it is exactly as described...quick and easy, and very tasty. We ate it warm so it will be interesting to see how it tastes when it is cold. Quite like the idea of freezing it as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
31 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: Silk
The first time I made this I added a teaspoon of Himalayan salt by mistake (it is more subtle, tastier and healthier than ordinary salt) instead of a 'pinch'. It was still delicious even though it was a teeny bit salty and was gobbled up in no time. The second time I made it I forgot to sprinkle the cinnamon sugar on top before baking it. Hopefully, I will get it right next time as it really is a very easy and tasty cake/tart. PS: Photos are of both attempts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: mlw
Looked at a few recipes for plum cake. Liked the look of this, saw the reviews so tried it. My husband was very impressed and said it was a winner.I will definitely be making it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: LETTHEMEATCAKE
This cake was absolutely lovely..... I used wheat free self raising four (150g) and the plum cake was sooo good that I made another with apples and pears- just as good with extra cinnamon !!! Thx
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: jujudingaling
I wanted to make two cakes so doubled all the quantities and baked them in baking paper lined loaf tins. They were delicious, but all the fruit sunk to the bottom so after cooking I had to invert them and they became upside down pudding. The texture of the cake was light and moist and he cinnamon flavour was carried through the cake, presumably because it sank with the fruit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes