My Reviews (144)

Creamy Mushroom Garlic Chicken

This is an easy way to make a creamy chicken dish which is delicious served over bowtie pasta or rice. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and fresh basil.
Reviews (144)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LitleLisa1 said:
Something else. The chicken in this dish is very forgettable, the sauce however, is to die for. It is rich and creamy and goes perfect over noodles. I made the same amount of sauce for two chicken breasts and boy am I glad that I did. I have a few additional changes I will make next time though. First, I would cube and brown the chicken first. It is a little anemic as is. I will also try adding some parsley or paprika to give the sauce a little colour. This dish, will however get made again. I even used low fat cream of mushroom and fat free cream cheese and am still giving it this rave review. You really need to try it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Tina
This recipe carries the distinction of being the easiest cream sauces I've ever made. Nothing but rave reviews from family and guests. For a carry-out dinner, I grilled the chicken and cut it into strips. I mixed and heated the sauce in the microwave, kept the sauce in a separate container, and served with penne pasta mixed with steamed veggies. Everyone went back for seconds.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
rocketD said:
Used different ingredients. I totally messed with this recipe. Used only 500g chicken, cream of chicken instead of mushroom, added a can of mushrooms, a couple of diced carrots, some green capsicum and extra garlic. Yum! Next time, I'll add corn, peas, or what ever else I have around. It would be great with asparagus or broccoli. Just add the veggies, raw, into the sauce before you pour it over the chicken. Fabulous. Can't wait to eat the left overs tomorrow...maybe over egg noodles this time...
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LISAMcCartney
I have a funny story about this recipe...I found it on my very first visit to allrecipes.com a few years ago when I first got married and was trying to learn to cook. I "scaled down" the number of servings from 9 to 4...very handy tool, I might add. When this recipe is scaled down to make 4 servings, it says to add 7/8 of a clove of garlic. Well, I misunderstood that and added 7 or eight cloves of garlic to the dish. I love a lot of garlic, so I didn't mind it, but my poor hubby had to try to choke it down not to hurt my feelings! I ended up throwing out the plastic container I'd stored the leftovers in because I couldn't get the garlic smell out of it. I have made the dish since and we love it...now I put 2 whole cloves in for 4 servings.
 
29 Sep 2008
This is too easy in the crock pot also. Just add the crm chz at the end. The dressing mix will give it the flavour reviews said it is missing. YUMMY
 
17 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Holly Goodfellow
I have a funny story about this recipe...I found it on my very first visit to allrecipes.com a few years ago when I first got married and was trying to learn to cook. I "scaled down" the number of servings from 9 to 4...very handy tool, I might add. When this recipe is scaled down to make 4 servings, it says to add 7/8 of a clove of garlic. Well, I misunderstood that and added 7 or eight cloves of garlic to the dish. I love a lot of garlic, so I didn't mind it, but my poor hubby had to try to choke it down not to hurt my feelings! I ended up throwing out the plastic container I'd stored the leftovers in because I couldn't get the garlic smell out of it. I have made the dish since and we love it...now I put 2 whole cloves in for 4 servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: KTJ50
I made a few changes to this to make it my own. I cut chicken into chunks and browned in butter in a skillet. I mixed the soup, sour cream, and cream cheese together with about 1/4 c. white wine and 1 tsp. garlic & herb seasoning. Poured into skillet, covered, and simmered while my rice cooked. I also doubled the garlic. Wow, this was yummy, and my boyfriend said it was definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
The chicken in this dish is very forgettable, the sauce however, is to die for. It is rich and creamy and goes perfect over noodles. I made the same amount of sauce for two chicken breasts and boy am I glad that I did. I have a few additional changes I will make next time though. First, I would cube and brown the chicken first. It is a little anemic as is. I will also try adding some parsley or paprika to give the sauce a little color. This dish, will however get made again. I even used low fat cream of mushroom and fat free cream cheese and am still giving it this rave review. You really need to try it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: ROMP
I totally messed with this recipe. Used only 1 lb chicken, cream of chicken instead of mushroom, added a can of mushrooms, a couple of diced carrots, some green pepper and extra garlic. Served it over biscuits. Yum! Next time, I'll add corn, peas, or what ever else I have around. It would be great with asparagus or broccoli. Just add the veggies, raw, into the sauce before you pour it over the chicken. Fabulous. Can't wait to eat the left overs tomorrow...maybe over egg noodles this time...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: tlg
This recipe carries the distinction of being the easiest cream sauces I've ever made. Nothing but rave reviews from family and guests. For a carry-out dinner, I grilled the chicken on a George Foreman grill,cut it into strips. I mixed and heated the sauce in the microwave, kept the sauce in a separate container, and served with penne pasta mixed with steamed veggies. Everyone went back for seconds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes