My Reviews (41)

Pasta and Fresh Tomato

This is a classic Italian-style way of preparing pasta, without too much accentuation. Garnish with Parmesan if you like.
Reviews (41)


24 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: JCC
I make something very similar to this recipe and I absolutely love it!! Rather than use vegetable oil, I use olive oil. I also use fresh basil instead of dried and I use fresh plum tomatoes from the garden, seeded and diced. I saute some garlic in olive oil, add the diced tomatoes, salt, pepper, some of the basil and let it cook for a few minutes (not too long). Then I toss penne with the tomatoes, garlic and basil and add the remaining basil. It is a great summer pasta dish using fresh ingredients from the garden. I just made it again last night!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: DawnNJ
Love, love, LOVE this recipe. I used whole wheat spaghetti, sautéed the tomatoes for a few min, added white cooking wine and cut back on the oil. I also took out the garlic after the pasta was done, chopped it and added it to the tomatoes with some garlic powder. I sprinkled it with some fat-free parmesan "topping" and it was great. So quick, and so tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: sissy
I am Italian, so I really liked this version of "macaroni & oil"! I added some salt and garlic powder to the tomato toss and used whole wheat angel hair pasta, also a little more oil and heated it all through. Served it with parmesan and ate the whole thing myself! Excellent, thanks for a nice dish to use up garden tomatoes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: cookin'mama
This is one of my favorite "end of the summer when tomatoes are abundant and delicious" recipes. I use more than one tomato per 8 ounces of pasta, lots of garlic, and fresh basil. Leftover sauce is superb on grilled chicken or fish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: MBKRH
Not bad. I used cherry tomatoes, halved, but otherwise followed the recipe as written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Tanaquil
Very simple ingredients but very good results! I had everything on hand so I tried this one. Used olive oil and garlic powder. Thanks! Added some grated parmesan to it, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Baby Potsticker
Quick and easy Italian dish. I use lots of garlic. Keep it simple.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Kahori526
It's easy and quick to make. I used a tbs of olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: labradoodlelulu
My daughter does not like garlic, so I couldn't add the garlic to our pasta water. However, I followed the recipe as written and sprinkled garlic salt on mine after plated and it was fantastic. I think JCC's adaptation sounds good too so will probably try that next. Great, simple and fresh pasta recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: KRAMLICH
We did not care for this. Too bland. I guess we like a stronger tomato taste with our pasta. Will not do it again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes