My Reviews (151)

Summer Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce

A great use for fresh tomatoes especially home grown ones! This sauces freezes well too so that you will always have a quick dinner handy.
Reviews (151)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Something else. This was a simple and tasty recipe. I made much less sauce, using these proportions: 3.5 big fresh tomatoes, diced and not seeded, cooked w/ 1 hot chilli and 4 tbsp of basil. 1 red onion w/ 3 cloves of garlic in olive oil. Slowly, while the sauce was simmering, I kept adding more chopped basil. Took about 2 hours and was fantastic.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JAYNEL
I've made this at least three times this summer with all the garden tomatoes and it gets better every time! Used fresh basil and lots of it and also kept seeds in and skins on. Very chunky and flavourful...especially with a little extra garlic! Will continue to make over and over!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MELISSA_B said:
Made it vegetarian. I too added a bit more basil and used tinned tomatoes instead. Very yummy!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
KMATISHAK said:
Used different ingredients. Delicious recipe! Husband brought home baskets of tomatoes & had to use them quickly before they went bad. First time trying this recipe & was very pleased. The only thing I did differently was add a little sugar to tone down the tartness & I added Oregano, fresh Rosemary, Marjoram, Thyme & sea salt. Very flavourful & chunky texture!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MONARCH38
It look a long time, but it was worth it. Seeding so many tomatoes is no quick task! It tastes like sauce that you get in good italian restaurants--very light but full of tomato and garlic flavour. It makes a TONNE, something like 8-10 servings, but that's good because my husband can take it to work for lunch. I highly recommend you try it!
 
20 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Sarah W
I've made this at least three times this summer with all the garden tomatoes and it gets better every time! Used fresh basil and lots of it and also kept seeds in and skins on. Very chunky and flavorful...especially with a little extra garlic! Also added a little dried italian seasoning. Will continue to make over and over!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Linda
This sauce is like GOLD in my cooking repertoire...used for pasta and divine pizza margherita. Tip: An easy way to peel tomatoes to remove their acidity before cooking down: Make star slits with a sharp knife at the stem end of tomatoes, place in boiling hot water for 2 minutes then the skins just fall off. I just got a big box of farm fresh tomatoes given to me so we are in heaven this week!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Baricat
A lovely celebration of the flavor of ripe, fresh tomatoes, provided you make a couple of small changes. One word was most likely omitted in the ingredients: Tomatoes should also be PEELED. If not, the peels separate and just become tough little indigestible bits. Before starting, simply blanch the tomatoes in boiling water for 30 seconds, then shock in ice water. They'll slip out of their skins in a heartbeat this way. Then, seed and dice. This step represents a big sensory improvement. Alternatively, you can just quarter the unpeeled, unseeded tomatoes, cook as normal, then pass the whole thing through a food mill. This results in a completely smooth sauce. The food mill removes all the skins and seeds. If you want it chunky, however, you'll have to use the first procedure. Another exception I took to the recipe was that in order to retain as much of that burstingly, achingly fresh flavor that exclaims "summer,", only cook for 20-30 minutes at the barest simmer. Cooking for 2 hours will result in a major loss of the fresh taste and the bright red color. See accompanying picture for a the color and texture of what this looks like when quick-cooked. A feast for the eyes, as well as the palate. As basil loses much of its fresh flavor, color, and texture when cooked, be sure to sprinkle each serving with more right before serving. Those minor changes will result in a superior product.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: shokod
This was a simple and tasty recipe. I made much less sauce, using these proportions: 3.5 big fresh tomatoes, diced and not seeded, cooked w/ 1 hot chili pepper and 1/4cup of basil. 1/2cup red and 1/2 yellow onions w/ 3 tooths of garlic in olive oil. Slowly, while the sauce was simmering, I kept adding another 1/4cup of chopped basil. Took about 2 hours and was fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: NRC127
This was good, and a great use for all those tomatoes that needed used! I didn't seed them, as I don't mind seeds in my sauce, and like the previous reviewer, I did think it needed a bit more garlic, so I added some garlic powder before serving. Otherwise, a great recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes