My Reviews (46)

Brown Rice Salad with Kidney Beans and Almonds

A perfect salad for a BBQ, bring-a-plate or potluck. Also makes a fine vegetarian summer dinner. A tasty mix of beans, nuts, rice and veggies.
Reviews (46)


16 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: flynnrf
great as a meal and healthy as well - or even take as a salad to a special occassion
 
18 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: RebekaDean
I made this however due to having fussy kids, I served each component separately so we could all make our own salad. It was a true success. I served it up with chicken.
 
01 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: tdntrungds
Amazing recipe. I just added ocean trout to make it as dinner.
 
08 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: bettymeetsmartha
Great healthy rice salad, although I felt it could have had a stronger flavour
 
25 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Jackie Wood
Thank you all for the wonderful reviews, they mean a LOT to me! I first came up with this recipe back in 2004 when my husband was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. It has evolved over the years, with additions, changes, or whatever my mood is. I now use EVOO and fat-free Italian dressing to equal roughly 1/4 cup (percentage of each is up to your personal tastes) I have tossed in asparagus, sunflower seeds, and completely switched to black beans about 4 years ago. The best thing some groceries have ever come up with for a busy working person are chopped veggies, and I have used my share of diced onions, and peppers from the grocery. I also used the precooked brown rice the last time, worked GREAT! I had an over abundance of cherry tomatoes last year, and halved a big handful and tossed them in. Ditto with extra Mini Pearl (grape tomatoes from Trader Joes), those go in whole. I have been known to toss in diced ham or chicken if the carnivores were descending. Happy cooking, and ENJOY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: larkspur
This is a delicious and beautiful salad! With the addition of carrots, it would have every color in the rainbow (except blue, of course!) and it tastes even better than it looks! I didn't add the mushrooms, because I didn't have any, and I also doubled the amount of salad dressing, because it was a little bland. With these changes, the salad is absolutely fantastic and so healthy! I will definitely make this again; thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Lorie C. Harding
I've been looking for a rice salad recipe for the longest time! I used to work in a coffee house that sold a sunflower-seed-longrain rice salad that I loved, and this recipe is almost EXACTLY the same! I followed the recipe as stated and added shredded carrot and sliced green onion to it. I didn't have any beans, but the salad was just fine without them - although I will try adding chick peas in the future. I used Kraft Golden Italian dressing, and like other reviewers, added MUCH more than the recommended 2 tbsp...I added over 5 tbsp ;P But it's really up to the individual - if you like more dressing, then this recipe allows you to add more without ruining the combined flavours My family like this recipe so much that I had to make ANOTHER batch the next day! And my hubby suggested I make this salad for upcoming family functions I will continue making this salad, especially during the summer when I like eating lighter
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: lovestohost
I made this recipe as written (except I forgot to pick up a green pepper, but I did have orange, yellow, and red). Oh, and I used *minute* rice because I'm lazy. It's pretty good. I can't decide how I feel about it, but Mr. LTH liked it! It's most def worth trying!!! I had it for lunch and thought it was ok. Then, for dinner, I added a splash of banana pepper juice and a shake of parm cheese (I would have chopped up some banana peppers and added them too, but, I'm lazy) and that really made a difference for me! I will prob make again, as it is a very nutrient dense all-in-one side! Thanks for a unique recipe (and thanks to LARKSPUR for mentioning it on the RE!)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Tracy L.
Like a lot of the other reviews, we added quite a bit more salad dressing than the recipe called for. I served it for guests and everyone liked it. I think the kidney beans and slivered almonds really made this unique. It is pretty, healthy, has a great texture, and tastes really good, too. Will make again - Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: becca
I made this for Dinner yesterday and it was very tasty. Used the leftovers for lunch in tortillas. Makes good wraps. Thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes