My Reviews (9)

Cherry Topped Cake

A basic cake recipe is taken to a new level of presentation and taste when the top is studded with fresh cherries.
Reviews (9)


27 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: ljw137
What size tin?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
17 May 2012
chefnoddy said:
Don't beat the eggs, sugar, vanilla and eggs at once as this will split the mix. Although the flour will bring it back together if a cake mix splits to far, which it will in this case, the texture is affected and the quality of your cake lowers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: ChloeJenkins
me and my bestfreind made this cherry cake and it was phenominal! we added a pink fondant on the top, decorated it with spots and stripes and sold the cake for £60 at a cake sale. Thank you so much for putting this recipe up because without this we wouldn't have been able to do this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
17 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: GillinNorway
This was well received by my family, warm with vanilla ice-cream . I doubled the recipe to make two cakes, one to be frozen. I used whole meal breadcrumbs, which was what I had. In my fan oven at 160 ' C, these two cakes were done after 35 and 40 minutes .
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
31 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: HappySunshine
I am a fan of easy recipes and followed the instructions but with half the quantities for a smaller cake and it has been a hit. I found no problem at all mixing everything in together but maybe I was just lucky? I will definitely be making this again, thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
10 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: HelenePetrie
made this with cherry's also put some currents in it smells and tastes good
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Lovescooking2017
I did what the recipe said and the cakes were lovely tasted. I would say 50 mins would be enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: Hotfingers
I only used half the ingredients for a smaller cake. I didn't have the correct amount of cherries so did a 50/50 mix of mixes fruit and it's came out perfect. This will be added to my number one cake for many years to come. Many thanks I will definitely add to my favorites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: auntyjack
our new favourite and easy to make cake. yum and thanks mate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes