My Reviews (29)

Homemade Hot Sauce

If you like Tabasco you'll love making your own hot sauce. This will spice up cold meats, marinades, vegetable dishes - just about anything! Keep refrigerated.
Reviews (29)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
charmedmommy said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I was so suprised how good this was. I tuned it down a bit by only adding half of the fresh pepper, it was enough kick to enjoy! Be careful when cutting the Jalapenos, you can smell the heat. So good, it's a must try!!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
If you are looking for a mild hot chilli this is great! Very tasty, big hit! Next year I will try with chillis for other members of the family who thought this was too mild (I don't eat hot stuff too much so I thought it was quite spicy This recipe was indeed easy,I am very much a novice at cooking anything and am learning a lot by mistakes very quickly I think this recipe should come with a warning for people like me who don't know anything about cooking: When you boil those chillis open the windows turn the fan on and stand away from the stove (I choked everyone out of the kitchen with the steam that came from the pot), Also--I do know you should wear gloves when working with hot chillis but I threw caution to the wind in that respect--I thought I had washed it all off (washed many many times) but I ended up burning my eyes when I got up in the morning! and my fingertips started burning again each timeI washed my hands. Rub aloe vera on fingers thoroughly then wash off the goopy stuff, repeat if necessary (it took two times for me but then the burning was completely gone)
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DTRAN
Easy Jalapeno Hot Sauce. We are all addicted to this.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: foodaholic
The minute I read this recipe, I knew it would be one FIERY HOT chilli sauce so I made a few adjustments. I used only one small jalapeno chilli for the entire recipe and added one clove of garlic along with 2 tbsp each of canola and reserved water, but the sauce was too HOT! I continued to add 2 tbsp each of canola oil and boiled water to the blender until I reached a level that was comfortable for my family (about 8 tbsp each). Finally, I seasoned the sauce with a pinch of salt. The flavor was absolutely delicious!! I've made this several times and used it as a sauce for chilli rellenos, quesadillas, tortilla chips, chicken enchiladas...the list goes on. My family loves it!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: AIMEE-JIN
I'd originally given this 4 stars, but I need to make it 2. Waaaay too much work! We love Mexican food, but, for the life of me, I couldn't figure out what to do with this once it was made. We added 2t to a big pot of chilli, but the remainder got moldy in the fridge.
 
19 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: SSTEHM
If you are looking for a mild hot sauce this is great! Very tasty, big hit! Next year I will try with hotter peppers for other members of the family who thought this was too mild (I don't eat hot stuff too much so I thought it was quite spicy This recipe was indeed easy,I am very much a novice at cooking anything and am learning a lot by mistakes very quickly I think this recipe should come with a warning for people like me who don't know anything about cooking: When you boil those peppers open the windows turn the fan on and stand away from the stove (I choked everyone out of the kitchen with the capsacin-loaded steam that came from the pot), Also--I do know you should wear gloves when working with hot peppers but I threw caution to the wind in that respect--I thought I had washed it all off (washed many many times) but I ended up burning my eyes when I got up in the morning! and my fingertips started burning again each timeI washed my hands. Rub aloe vera on fingers thoroughly then wash off the goopy stuff, repeat if necessary (it took two times for me but then the burning was completely gone)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Jamie Lindemann
mmmm so good. I did add a bit of my own touch to this. I added 4 cloves of garlic with the peppers while they boiled. I also left all the seeds in while boiling. Then I added a handful of cilantro as well as the juice from 1 lime. It turned out very spicy and extremely flavorful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: sandris
The minute I read this recipe, I knew it would be one FIERY HOT sauce so I made a few adjustments. I used only one small jalapeno pepper for the entire recipe and added one clove of garlic along with 2 tbsp each of canola and reserved water, but the sauce was too HOT! I continued to add 2 tbsp each of canola oil and boiled water to the blender until I reached a level that was comfortable for my family (about 8 tbsp each). Finally, I seasoned the sauce with a pinch of salt. The flavor was absolutely delicious!! I've made this several times and used it as a sauce for chile rellenos, quesadillas, tortilla chips, chicken enchiladas...the list goes on. My family loves it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: ellen779
This recipe is delicious as it is and easy too. But if you roast a few of the peppers, over your gas burner is fine (do not peel) and add them to the mix you will have Super Taqueria perfection.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: MAUREEN CURTIS
Easy Jalapeno Hot Sauce. We are all addicted to this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes