My Reviews (276)

Easy Homemade Hummus

You can make this easy hummus more or less smooth by adding the reserved chickpea liquid from the tin.
Reviews (276)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LIANA said:
Used different ingredients. This houmous was super easy and so good! I'm a "houmous snob" too. I was skeptical about leaving out the tahini. I added a bit more garlic, a tsp of black pepper, a dash of tamari, and a chopped up spring onion to give it some of the flavours of my fave recipe. Great! I'm getting ready to make my second batch. Thanks for the recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
BEETLEBUG887 said:
Something else. So I had this tin of chickpeas sitting on my shelf and decided to make some houmous. However, it had to be something simple because I didn't have much else. I found this recipe and gave it a try. In all honesty I did stray from Erin's true recipe, but its close enough to say it was a GREAT basis to start with. I added some extra virgin olive oil (rather than the bean liquid) and salt. Instead of the chilli, I added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper. After blending it all, I tasted it, and added a few shakes of spice as necessary. Also, its a good idea to cover this with clingfilm and then allow it to sit in the fridge for at least an hour so that all the flavours can mellow and mix together!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KIMAR
This hummus was excellent, and received rave reviews from my guests. I didn't miss the tahini, and loved the addition of fresh chilli, it was just spicy enough. Next time I will double the amount of the chickpea liquid to 2 Tbsp. for a more smooth texture. But there will certainly be a next time!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BridgetG.
This did not taste like the hummus I have had in restaurants. We ended up throwing it out. I would not make this again.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Nightingale
The recipe is easily scalable to much larger amounts. One thing I noticed is that in larger amounts, it started to get a bit too thick for the food processor to handle. My solution was to add a bit of crushed ice and water. It came out creamy and really good. Incidentally, I used dried chickpeas soaked overnight and boiled 3-4 hours instead of tinned.
 
11 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: robertjm
So I had this can of garbanzo beans sitting on my shelf and decided to make some hummus. However, it had to be something simple because I didn't have much else. I found this recipe and gave it a try. In all honesty I did stray from Erin's true recipe, but its close enough to say it was a GREAT basis to start with. I added some extra virgin olive oil (rather than the bean liquid) and salt. Instead of garlic cloves I subsituted 3 tsp of granulated garlic. Instead of the jalapeno, I added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper. After blending it all, I tasted it, and added a few shakes of spice as necessary. Also, its a good idea to cover this with plastic wrap and then allow it to sit in the fridge for at least an hour so that all the flavors can mellow and mix together!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2002
Reviewed by: SHANNON2E
This hummous was excellent, and received rave reviews from my guests. I didn't miss the tahini, and loved the addition of fresh jalepeno, it was just spicy enough. Next time I will double the amount of the garbanzo bean liquid to 2 Tbsp. for a more smooth texture. But there will certainly be a next time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: NHMOM01
This hummus was super easy and so good! I'm a "hummus snob" too. I was skeptical about leaving out the tahini. I added a bit more garlic, a tsp of black pepper, a dash of tamari, and a chopped up green onion to give it some of the flavors of my fave Moosewood recipe. Great! I'm getting ready to make my second batch. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: MIKEGINNY
The recipe is easily scalable to much larger amounts. One thing I noticed is that in larger amounts, it started to get a bit too thick for the food processor to handle. My solution was to add a bit of crushed ice and water. It came out creamy and really good. Incidentally, I used dried garbanzos soaked overnight and boiled 3-4 hours instead of canned.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: BANSREEPARIKH
This is a great recipe. Best of all...it is soooooo quick! I added a little less garlic, 2 sundried tomatoes (originally packed in oil), and a little more salt. I also used pickled jalapenos because didn't have and fresh ones. The sundried tomatoes gave it a wonderful flavor and a really pretty reddish color. I served it with pita chips yesterday at my Superbowl party for those of us who want a healthier alternative to chips and dip. This was a great recipe and I will definitely be making it again and again. It's so much cheaper and better than store bought hummus.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes