My Reviews (65)

Hamantaschen Biscuits

A great biscuit for Purim, the Jewish holiday. Some people think the dough works best if refrigerated overnight, others if used immediately. You decide.
Reviews (65)


17 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Shell Bell
Great! For those having issues with dough texture due to the oil, substitute butter for the oil and milk for the OJ. The oil and OJ are used to make the cookies pareve (meaning they contain no meat or dairy and can therefore be consumed with other meat and/or dairy foods according to Jewish law.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Evelynn
As an incredibly inexperienced baker, I found this recipe reasonably simple and very tasty. With the first batch I made the mistake of not rolling the dough thin enough. The taste wasn't impacted, but they didn't hold their shape. The second batch turned out with a better triangle shape. When I make these again I won't add the flour all at once, seeing as I probably added another cup while I was rolling the dough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: LYNNINMA
As do others here, I have problems with oil-based dough. Thusly, I used 1 stick of butter (chilled & cubed) and 4 oz. light cream cheese (chilled & cubed) and made in my food processor. I let the dough rest for 2 hrs. in the fridge before filling (I used seedless black raspberry preserves and orange marmalad). I baked them at 360 degrees for exactly 14 minutes. The resulting cookies tasted great, if not perfectly formed (this shiksa's first attempt at making hamantaschen).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Sondra Glucksman
I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE TO THE LETTER AND FOUND IT TO BE A SIMPLE ONE BUT A BIT MESSY TO WORK WITH MY MIXER. THE STIFF BATTER WAS HARD TO BEAT AND KEPT CLOGGING UP THE BEATERS, BUT IT WAS WORTH THE TROUBLE. THEY TURNED OUT BEAUTIFULLY AND WERE DELICIOUS! NEXT TIME I WILL ADD SOME LEMON ZEST TO THE BATTER.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Jacob Rogers
Great recipe. Tips: use wax paper to roll it out, it can be a little sticky, but that's ok. I made my cookies too big and even though I keep adjusting after each batch I would of liked smaller cookies, so I suggest smaller cookies as they will swell a lot in the oven. Don't worry about putting them too close together on the cookie sheet because after you pinch them into eyes they have plenty of room next to each other. Make the most of your first rolling out because each subsequent rolling out will produce more inferior cookies than the last.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Liz
A bit crumbly and it seperated at the pinches when I baked. Next time I will chill before working with it. Tasted yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: KICKINKARISA
Not at all messy to make if you have a mixer with dough beaters. Very tasty not to sweet. A beautiful cookie and texture. All though I wasn't a big fan of the folding method. I cut out my cookie shapes at an eigth of an inch thickness and sandwiched the jam. Then lightly poked two fork pricks on top. Much neater that way, can use more jam, and not an ugly cookie in the batch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: mandibula
they came out great! everybody loved them! they taste like the real thing. I freezed half of the dough wrapped very well in saran wrap and the hamantaschen also came out great. I thawed the dough overnight in the fridge, but when I started to roll it it cracked a little bit. I let it sit in the counter for 15 minutes to get closer to room temperature and then it rolled out fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: lowcal-cook
I have made them since 2011 iand I give them out as Mishloach Manot and people always love them!! The secret is to add the zest is a lemon!!! That’s changes the game!!! If you are a novice baker, try this recipe. You won't be disappointed. I used 4.5 cups of flour and when rolling out the dough used the other 1/2 a cup. And refrigerate the dough for an hour bf baking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Mindi Barth Maline
This was a nice recipe. Dough really easy to work with. I did what others suggested and put the dough in the fridge for a little while first. We did make way more than 24 cookies. I filled them with homemade apricot and prune filling and also Nutella and chocolate chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes