My Reviews (65)

Hamantaschen Biscuits

A great biscuit for Purim, the Jewish holiday. Some people think the dough works best if refrigerated overnight, others if used immediately. You decide.
Reviews (65)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Lisa G said:
Used different ingredients. I've always had trouble with an all-oil based dough, so I substituted a stick of butter for 1/2 cup of the oil, and beat it with the sugar before adding the eggs. Then I refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours. Two tablespoons of preserves ran out of the hamantaschen; 1 tablespoon is more than enough!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LUVNHUSBAND
we used this recipe to make hamantaschen with a group of older adults...it was wonderful! easy to make, rolled out well, and tasted good. the favourite fillings were apricot jam and chocolate chips.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KIMAR
Excellent biscuit. Good texture, good shape hold, and without a bitter after taste that many hamantaschen recipes have.I would not recommend refridgerating the dough though. Dough should be used immediately after making. If one delays, some extra egg & water solution should be used to seal seams before baking, as the seams will rupture and spill goo everywhere if they aren't sealed. Use good quality jam and avoid using jellies as they tend to leak more.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Cath
I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE TO THE LETTER AND FOUND IT TO BE A SIMPLE ONE BUT A BIT MESSY TO WORK WITH MY MIXER. THE STIFF BATTER WAS HARD TO BEAT AND KEPT CLOGGING UP THE BEATERS, BUT IT WAS WORTH THE TROUBLE. THEY TURNED OUT BEAUTIFULLY AND WERE DELICIOUS! NEXT TIME I WILL ADD SOME LEMON ZEST TO THE BATTER.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: mandc
Not at all messy to make if you have a mixer with dough beaters. Very tasty not to sweet. A beautiful biscuit and texture. All though I wasn't a big fan of the folding method. I cut out my biscuit shapes at an eigth of an inch thickness and sandwiched the jam. Then lightly poked two fork pricks on top. Much neater that way, can use more jam, and not an ugly biscuit in the batch!
 
11 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: MOMDGP
I've always had trouble with an all-oil based dough, so I substituted a stick of butter for 1/2 cup of the oil, and beat it with the sugar before adding the eggs. Then I refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours. Two tablespoons of preserves ran out of the hamantaschen; 1 tablespoon is more than enough!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: KIRSTIN243
Excellent cookie. Good texture, good shape hold, and without a bitter after taste that many hamantaschen recipes have.I would not recommend refridgerating the dough though. Dough should be used immediately after making. If one delays, some extra egg & water solution should be used to seal seams before baking, as the seams will rupture and spill goo everywhere if they aren't sealed. Use good quality jam and avoid using jellies as they tend to leak more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: ngood
How to make this perfect: as another reviewer suggested, replace 1/2 c of oil with a stick of butter and whip with sugar before adding eggs. I also added a tsp of orange zest, used 4 1/2 c flour mixed with the baking powder, and held aside the 5th cup of flour to add as needed. I ended up using about 5 c total. Mix one egg with a Tbsp of milk, and using finger, moisten the outer edges of each circle before filling and pinching. I had no leaking casualties at all. I used to make these with my mother when I was little, and she was smiling from Heaven when I made this recipe. It is absolutely perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: SARAH S
This is a very good recipe, the dough was perfect. I recommend brushing them with egg just before putting them in the oven and baking them at 400 instead, then they look nice and shiny and browned. I also got more like 35 cookies from the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: STACEY.
we used this recipe to make hamantaschen with a group of older adults...it was wonderful! easy to make, rolled out well, and tasted good. the favorite fillings were apricot jam and chocolate chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes