My Reviews (22)

Sandwich Sponge Cake

This is a lovely little recipe for a Victoria sponge style cake sandwich. There are two cakes (that are more butter cake than traditional sponge) that are joined with jam and cream in the centre. Decorate with fresh berries.
Reviews (22)


20 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: markleeuk
This is an excellent recipe that makes a great Victoria sponge. I shared this with a number of friends and they all loved it! I did customise it slightly by chopping up some strawberries and mixing with the jam for the filling. This gives the centre a really fruity flavour and might fool your conscience into thinking that there's a health benefit! Seriously though, this recipe makes the best Victoria sponge I've baked. Good stuff.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: liscra
The first time I had ever baked a cake n it was Soooo Easy and absolutely Gorgeous!!! I followed the recipe but I did one cake n cut it in half it took 33mins to cook through perfectly, also I used icing sugar to sprinkle on top instead of caster sugar...We will definately be doingg this again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
19 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: DRWHO
really liked this cake everyone enjoyed it made it for my daughters birthday party as she doesn't like jam cakes and it was really lite. i used butter but only 200g as i didn't have marg but it was nice quite sweet but we all have sweet teeth in our family
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
10 Jun 2009
jocky said:
Altered ingredient amounts. seperated eggs egg whites in stiff
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: CassieCupcake
I loved this cake it was brilliant i would definately do it again !
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
11 Aug 2010
DebCampion said:
Altered ingredient amounts. 2 oz more flour and no milk - fab
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
14 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: clarewleeds
I made this once exactly to the recipe and it was simple and tasty, although I found the amount of butter to be too much so I made it with 25g less butter and added and extra 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Much more to my taste, but an excellent recipe altogether!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
20 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: mailtrams
Easy to make. Every one who had a slice said it was amazing
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: peskykids
This is a fab recipe, the sponge was very light, best sponge cake I've made! I have used it for a victoria sponge, and today made it in a square dish and added jam and coconut on the top, delicious. Thank you so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: tasha8
Great easy recipe. Made my own buttercream
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes