My Reviews (28)

Dijon Vinaigrette

I like to make my own salad dressing and this vinaigrette with Dijon mustard is one of my favourites. Very easy to make.
Reviews (28)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: COOKIE_TIME
Yummy! The name does not do it justice - maybe Dijon Vinaigrette would be better :D My French roommates in college used this to marinate cucumber slices in for a refreshing side/salad. I've been looking for the recipe for many years. Thanks for helping out! Oh, made it the other night with cucumber slices but added large chunks of fresh tomato for variety and colour. Even the kids liked it so it lasted only one day after that dinner. The red wine vinegar I used was zingy so you could try 2/3 oil and 1/3 vinegar, if you like. Thanks for the memories that will repeat themselves in the future!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SPELTRONG said:
Used different ingredients. i left out the onion powder and garlic salt and added freshly chopped herbs instead.its very similar to one that my mother used to make.Very easy!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JSTEW51576 said:
Used different ingredients. I used this salad dressing over coldcorkscrew pasta, Black olive slices, crumbled feta cheese, diced red and green olives. Yoiu can also add diced celery, brocolli florets, cherry tomatoes, whatever you like. It goes so fast that you need to make another batch right away! :-)
 
22 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wow! This has to be one of the best dressings I've made on this site and I've made a lot. My husband who only likes corn as his vegetable of choice (unless forced to eat something else) and if I do manage to get him to eat a salad his first response for a dressing is "ranch" as if it's the only kind ever made. Well, we have a winner because he not only tried it, but ate an entire bowl of salad plus asked for more and declared it a keeper. I did use 1/2 c. olive oil and 1/4 c. veg. oil (basically switching them) omitted the garlic salt and used 1-2 cloves of minced garlic, 1/4 tsp. of onion powder and added a bit of sugar until I got the desired sweetness. I would suggest a name change for this one to get more people to try it "Mustard Oil Dressing" is not nearly as appealing as "Dijon Vinaigrette".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: GISELLE L
i left out the onion powder and garlic salt and added freshly chopped herbs instead.its very similar to one that my mother used to make.Very easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: MichaelinVermont
This recipe is wonderful but using powdered garlic and onion instaead of fresh deserves 4 starts. Grate onion from your grater and dice garlic for a much more flavorful taste, I make this all the time. I also never buy salad dressings and make all dressings from scratch and people talk about them all the time. Once you master the basics you will always be able to create a dressing not only for salads but many other dishes. If I could share my recipes I would but I do not measure anything because once you know the ratio's it is very very easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: one man
Great base recipe with a beautiful pink color. I like the ratio of vinegar, olive oil and vegetable oil. I prefer a bit of a vinegar punch. I add a honey mustard to sweeten it up a bit, a little more than a pinch of garlic and onion salt and then I crack fresh pepper over the salad at serving time to taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: tantuc
This is a good dressing if you add a bit of honey to it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: moaa
Good but cut down the oils a bit and it's missing something. Used this dressing for my cucumber salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2010
Reviewed by: TheGoddessGiGi
My mom taught me to make this same thing, but we skip the onion and garlic powders, and use real pressed garlic instead, and we also add some basil. If you let it sit over night, it get's even better! I use it for pasta salad all the time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes