My Reviews (29)

Welsh Fruit Loaf - Bara Brith

The fruit loaf is a traditional Welsh tea cake and is best eaten spread with butter with a cup of tea! Allow time to soak the fruit overnight. Check the cake after an hour, if it browns too quickly cover it with foil and return to the oven.
Reviews (29)


09 May 2013
Reviewed by: BigShotsMom
We really enjoyed this. I used strong black Irish breakfast tea to soak the fruit, which was black and golden raisins and currants. I also decreased the sugar to 125g. Mine was ready in 45 minutes but I may have converted the oven temperature incorrectly. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
Comment:
17 Dec 2010
Lilywhite said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I upped the spices to a teaspoon each and it comes out divine
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
04 Feb 2010
rosie23 said:
Something else. This tea loaf is very good , very moorish!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
17 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: john_50sco
third time making this went down a treat i just added some spice as we like spicy
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: rosie23
great recipe, easy to do, taste is excellent!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: cardifflad52
First time making and now in oven smelling nice at 2am would have licked the bowl clean but thought i use a spoon instead so thank you for sharing , oh i used one spoon of spice and cinnamon
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: mary28
Easy to follow recipe tasted lovely with butter or cheese or on its own. Went well with ice cream for pud. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
17 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Lilywhite
Beautiful loaf, very easy to do, fab!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
01 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Gizmo120
Really simple recipe. Lovely moist loaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: Angieyates
Worked a treat. I always thought fruit loaf was dry but after eating some homemade Bara Brith in a B&B in Anglesey I thought I’d have a go and this loaf was just as good if not better! I didn’t put the cinnamon in because I’m not a huge fan but the mixed spice was good and I put a teaspoon full in!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes