My Reviews (25)

Fried and Baked Spiced Chicken

It's not an exact match for KFC but its fairly close and tastes great. The spice mix also works well on other meat.
Reviews (25)


27 May 2011
Reviewed by: buntoojaan
i love this recipe and i love to make this recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
30 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: zipadee
Looove this recipe! It's so tasty and does actually taste almost like KFC chicken. It was instantly a big hit with my family
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: OregonNativeRising
Instead of frying it first, we added oil to the roasting pan and heated that while we coated the chicken. If you make sure to turn the chicken a couple of times during cooking and/or baste it, it works perfectly well. Everyone in the house enjoyed this recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: breorgie
It tastes nothing like KFC. It's way too heavy on the the ginger and the Thyme. I think you got the basil, oregano, garlic salt and paprika perfect, as well as the Salt. Next time I'm going eliminate the ginger and thyme completely. I feel kfc chicken has a zesty hints so I'm going to add ground lemongrass and up the mustard and pepper content next time. Good starting recipe. Needs loads of tweaking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
05 Apr 2013
BunsInBows said:
how long do you fry it for first?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
30 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Elangley
Wow!!!!.......very nearly KFC. The whole family loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 May 2014
Reviewed by: thinman51
Following Slimming world pleased to say lost 5 stone but really fancied this recipe so used all the the spices and herbs but instead of using flour used 250 mil of fat free yogurt to make into a paste covered chicken and then covered with 50 grams of wholemeal bread crumbs . spray with frylight and bake in oven. Really good with homemade chips and coleslaw
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
17 Apr 2013
arishussain said:
I think you fry the chicken pieces until golden brown and then bake them in the oven for 45 minutes or until cooked through. I hope this helps, happy cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: KarlEvans
I worked for KFC for over four years and know what it tastes like... there is defintely NO paprika in the origianl. It would leave a horrible red stain on your hands. As KFC is breaded by hand you would notice this.... im yet to find anything close.. Im afraid.. this isnt. But it tatses good. Plus....kfc has to be fried.. thats the idea of kfc. This recipe dries out the coating!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
07 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: GrannySmith
This is so, so good! I made up a whole batch of the dry ingredients (except the tarragon cos I didn't have any) and, because there are only two of us, I cut up a couple of chicken breasts and used just a couple of spoons of the mix to dip the egg/milk soaked chicken strips in. fried off and cooked in the oven for 20 minutes. Can't praise this recipe highly enough! The rest of the mix is stored in a container for next time. 'Course, the real test will be the grandkids. Lol
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes