My Reviews (56)

Cucumber Onion Salad

The secret to a really good cucumber salad is to blot the cucumbers dry on paper towels. This is lovely and summery.
Reviews (56)


14 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: JUSTCYN
I have made this before but I always soak my cucumbers and onions in salt water overnight until they are limp. The salt from the water doesn't add too much saltiness but I'd leave out the salt when mixing in the sour cream. Yes they must be very dry when mixing in the sour cream so draining them for a couple of hours after soaking is essential. The salad is very watery otherwise. I also have added a little dill when mixing in the sour cream. This seems like a lot of work but it's really not. Just some planning and a couple of minutes cutting and draining and then you let them sit in the refrigerator the rest of the time. Makes a very tasty elegant salad. I wrote the last review of this recipe almost a year ago. I've been on a quest for the perfect cucumber salad for some years before that too. This is still a DELICIOUS salad and I've been making it a lot lately because cucumbers are cheap and abundant. It's a good way to use up a lot of cucumbers. A few slices on a tossed salad just doesn't use up enough. Right now serving for serving, an all cucumber salad is cheaper than lettuce too. You might be interested to know that the salt soaking I mentioned before also seems to cut down significantly on the burping. I have since tried a scant amount of thyme instead of the dill. This is good. I've tried the paprika but I won't again. It doesn't add much to the flavor and it gives it a pinkish color I don't care for. I have however taken to mixing equal parts mayo and sour cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Simple and delicious! Sometimes the most basic ingredients combine to be some of the best tasting. I love cucumber salads and they make a nice light side dishes. Be sure to drain the liquid out of the cucumbers so you don't have a watery, "soggy" salad. I used reduced fat sour cream as fat free usually has an aftertaste that's a bit unpleasant. I let it chill for a couple of hours and it was very "cool" and very good. It reminds me of my Grandma Jean's cucumber salad - Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Without vinegar, I found this to be very bland. Once I added it in it turned out very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: awesome in tummy
This is the same way my grandma made these too! We chilled the cukes until they were ice cold and crisp. I do not remember the drying process but know they were drained really good. We used reg. sour cream. We also added dill weed to this too for added flavor. It's really refreshing on summer days. Thanks Jill!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: BELLYBUTTONSGIRL
I loved this recipe because it's the quintessential taste of summer for me. I use low fat sour cream and lots of white wine vinegar mixed in which gives it a good vinegary tang. Lots of black pepper makes it really yummy. I've been making a variation of this recipe since I was a little girl.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: ACKYRAY
I enjoyed this recipe but I did add some fresh dill for a little extra flavor. The drying technique was very helpful. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: abapplez
We love this! I have been preparing/eating this for many years. This is the way my great-grandma, grandma and mom prepared cucumbers and sour cream. The simplicity is perfect. I do use regular sour cream and sweet onion. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: TINKERBELL926
I NEEDED A VEGGIE SIDE DISH AND THE ONLY VEGATABLE I HAD ON HAND WAS CUCUMBERS SO I DECIDED ON THIS RECIPE. I DIDNT CHILL IT..JUST MIXED EVERYTHING TOGETHER AND SERVED. I WILL MAKE THIS OFTEN.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: WISTERIA79
I really liked this salad, though next time I will lower the onion to cucumber ratio. Guess I'm just not that much of an onion person. I ended up adding some garlic salt and Mrs. Dash for extra flavor and it went over great with my family. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: KATHY-N-JUSTIN
This is a good recipe. My grandmother makes this too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes