My Reviews (76)

Kumara and Parsnip Soup

This savoury vegetable soup combines kumara, parsnip, turnip, and pumpkin to create a creamy and flavourful soup to warm you up on a chilly day.
Reviews (76)


24 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: kipuka11
Loved it! The combination of the different flavors from the roots were wonderful. Next time I am going to cut back on the butternut squash a little and add more parsnips and celery root. I have never cooked with celery root before but now it's my favorite. The only thing I would add to this recipe is to stir in herbs. I used basil and dill and I think it added a little more flavor (not that it was lacking)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Brandi
I just made this and it is delicious. I added 3 cloves of garlic to the celery and onion while I cooked that. I also added some garlic powder, cumin, and dried parsley to the soup while it simmered. I think cumin goes very well with root vegetables. Thanks for the great recipe! This is the perfect thing for a cold winter day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Zonia
I made this tonight but tweaked it to my personal liking. I had no parsnips so used 4 turnips, substituted garlic rosemary bread dipping blend for the salt and pepper. I added 2 leeks and garlic to the onion, celery, and butter. I used 2 1/2 Tbls vegetable paste, 1 cup white wine (Chardonnay), and 6 cups of water to make the broth. Then I added the roasted vegies. It looked so good as it was that I didn't puree it or add the cream. It turned out great, will definitely make this again and again. I had never used celery root but will from now on, and I will have to try it with the parsnips as I'm sure it will add another great flavor. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Dale Osborn Wilkinson
I served this as a starter for a 5-course meal on New Year's Eve...so for simplicity sake, I placed all the prepared vegetables in my roaster, along with the onion, 4 cloves of garlic, canola oil, and the seasonings. I roasted them @ 350F for 2 hours, stirring once every 25 mins. I then placed the roaster on my stove top, scraped down the sides with a whisk, and while adding the vegetable broth...I pureed it with my hand-held blender. Instead of adding the cream, I served it with a dollop of fat-free sour cream. Although my guests begged for seconds, I made them hold off until after the 5th course was served. Needless to say I ended up sending them home with the left over soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: lupusliz
Wow, this was GREAT! I couldn't get celery root, but it was wonderful just the same. I subbed skim milk for the half-&-half and chicken broth for the vegetable broth because that's all I had on hand. At the end, I added about 1/3 cup orange juice and some nutmeg to taste. A tasty way to warm up a chilly Autumn day :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: SilverXeno
This has a good flavor and I like the combination of veggies. Some problems I ran into: Butternut squash roasts to fork tender much more quickly than some of the other things being roasted! So, by the time I had everything soft, some of the veggies had begun to crisp & brown! Once I started to puree, it became more "mashed veggie" consistency than soup. I added more broth, ran out of veggie broth...and moved on to chicken broth! Maybe I had more veggies than called for? I dislike amounts like "3 carrots" instead of 3 ounces, or 2 cups. The carrots I grabbed were the smallest in the bag, but still larger than others I've bought (farmer's market veggies vs. store veggies?)! My sweet potato was kind of large, b/c the alternative was 2 very small ones & I thought the big one looked nicer on the outside. So, maybe I had too many veggies, in the end I just added more liquid to help boost it...but I do think this could use some more herbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: kauaieg
Very nice soup. I used broth I made from a combination of veg tips an peels that I saved in a zip bag in the freezer and some veg that I roasted. Much better than packaged and you control the salt. I needed two quarts of broth to thin this enough to eat....still quite thick. I added nutmeg and the grated peel of one orange at the end. This really made it pop. Otherwise, no other changes. Served with paninis made with swiss, provolone, tomato and proscuitto. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Timothy Batts
I really liked it! I woke today and it was 12 degrees outside. Been carrying this around for a while now and finally made it.never cook much with parsnips, butternut squash, and never with celery root. I pretty much followed the recipe but did take a few hints from the other reviews. I used four parsnips, 2 celery roots, I did add about a tsp of dried basil, a tsp of dill weed. I also used one whole chopped sweet onion and two cloves of minced garlic. Because I increased those items it took almost 1 pint of half and half and almost 32 oz boxes of vegetable broth. The result was creamy smooth and not too sweet and not bitter at all. Warming this soup tomorrow will be fantastic! The only thing that you may want change is cutting up the turnips more as I found cutting them into even eights required more than an hour to cook them through. Thank you! This a unique soup and one to keep!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: dobby4me
amazing! added a few of the suggestions: -garlic when cooking onion and celery -dill, cumin, garlic powder, and parsley after adding roasted veggies to soup sooooooooooo good....highly recommend.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Avocat
This was very hearty and delicious. I added some fresh rosemary. I decided to try the soup without using vegetable or other flavored broth, just for fun. I used 6 cups of water because I added a lot of extra vegetables, like parsley root, mushrooms, and leeks. Cutting all those raw root vegetables is big job, and kind of dangerous! Also added some lemon pepper and cumin. It is great without the added cream, too. It would be easier to use Mrs. CMBG's roaster idea, but I forgot to try that method. Instead, I lined my roasting pan with foil and sprayed it lightly with oil, and after roasting, I found I was able to just pick the foil up and funnel the vegetables into the pot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes