My Reviews (57)

Chicken and Wild Rice Chowder

A very filling chicken, vegetable and rice soup. You can use poached or even leftover roast chicken for this soup.
Reviews (57)


24 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: Caroline
I really enjoyed this recipe - it's different and tasty. A couple of tips: add the carrots later in the cooking process. After simmering with the rice for an hour, they got pretty soft. Also, be careful when you put the soup in the blender - because it is so hot, it flares up when you run the blender. Leave plenty of room for steam to escape - it might be safer to blend it in two batches of 1 cup each, unless your blender pitcher is larger than normal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This was pretty good. It had a great texture, I mean, it was wonderful. (It just could have used a bit more flavor). I didn't plan on pureeing it, so I thickened it with some milk and flour. It got pretty thick that way, and I still added the cream. It was smooth, and just thick enough. I would even say it was silky, lol. I added two garlic cloves, and used a grocery store rotisserie chicken. Served with "cheese bread" from this site. Very filling! I got my wild rice at Trader Joe's- much cheaper than it would be elsewhere.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Amy Austin
This was extremely good! I added a bit extra chicken (3 boneless skinless breasts, pan fried in butter). I also used a 3 rice blend, because that's what I could find in the store - I think it was wild, regular, and red rice. It didn't have to cook as long as the directions stated. It was SO good! Next time, I'm not going to bother pureeing it, because it was just fine without that step, and that way I won't have to clean the darn food processor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Laurel Durgee Gyes
I really liked this chowder with just a few changes. First, I used 2 pounds cut up chicken breast stir fried in minced garlic with 1 tablespoon italian spice. I used my crockpot to cook it all in and added the heavy cream 1 hour before serving. I did not puree any of the soup and it still came out thick and hearty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: ODI2OK
This is a great creamy wild rice soup! Taste is similar to the wild rice soup at "Grandma's restaurant in Duluth, Minnesota. I think I will put some mushrooms in it next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: JSS764S
This is a really tasty and wonderfully hearty soup. It does tend to get very thick, so extra liquid is necessary. Also, leaving out the bay leaf and substituting a bouillon/water combination for part of the stock still makes a great soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Cottonista
I was looking for the perfect recipe to use my wild rice--and I found it! I made this soup for a "tail gate" meal during this year's harvest. My father-in-law said, "There's nothing wrong with this soup," meaning he really, really liked it. My husband agreed that it was a keeper. A change I made was reducing the broth to about 6 cups because I only had about 1 cup wild rice, and I like my soup to be thicker. You absolutely must season this soup, or it will be bland! I used creole seasoning to flavor instead of salt and pepper (creole is a staple in our kitchen). Thanks for the awesome and EASY recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: TIKIGODS21
I loved this recipe! I did use half and half instead of the heavy cream. It wasn't very thick, but use it if you want it more like soup than chowder. I added mushrooms and garlic as well. Will definitly make again and again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: SCHWEETPEARED
I made this recipe on a cold fall night for my husband and Mother-in-law and it was absoulutly perfect. The soup was full of flavor, creamy, and totally wonderful. The ingrediants seemed a bit simple when I looked at it, but after trying it I could eat this every night!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: mmulrich
This was really good. I used canned and cooked wild rice, so that cut my cooking time down quite a bit. Also, as other readers have said, be careful if you are using chicken broth as some of them have lots of salt. I had used Tone's Chicken Base and it is very salty...so I didn't add any additional salt to the chowder. In the end I ended up using 2 cans of cooked wild rice, 3 chicken breasts (boneless), 5 cups of broth and then the rest of the ingredients listed by Michelle. My family loved it, even my 4 year old. Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes