My Reviews (30)

Grilled Eggplant Open Sandwich

A wonderful vegetables, cheese and pesto sandwich. Make sure you slice the vegetables thinly enough that they will cook quickly.
Reviews (30)


26 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: cara
This sandwich did not turn out well for me, following as the recipe was written. Broiling eggplant for 5 minutes underneath several other vegetables does not allow the eggplant to cook at all. In the end, I took the sandwiches apart, broiled the eggplant on it's own, then reconstructed the sandwiches. If you like cooked eggplant vs raw, I would recommend either frying the eggplant in a little bit of oil on stovetop or placing, lightly salted, under the broiler prior to making sandwiches. Our sandwiches turned out okay after I cooked the eggplant. I didn't have any mushrooms or red pepper, but the sandwich turned out perfectly fine in the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Excellent sandwich that's easy to put together and tastes great! I grilled the veggies and the bread. I mixed some olive oil along with garlic, salt, oregano and basil and brushed that over everything and placed it on the grill. I assembled the sandwich adding fresh mozzarella and a bit of balsmic vs. pesto. Overall, very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
I love this sandwich! I made my own pesto sauce from the Vegan Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto recipe on here. I sliced the eggplant with my mandoline slicer, sweated it for an hour, rinsed and dried, brushed with olive oil, then grilled it. (I followed the method from finecooking.com How to Cook Eggplant). I'm so glad I took the time to grill the eggplant--I'm sure it's great as is, but I need cooked eggplant for other recipes and it is delicious that way! I left out the onion and used grilled globe squash instead of the mushrooms. I also had to sub cheddar instead of mozzarella. I made two sandwiches so I could have one for lunch tomorrow at work and I wanted to eat the second one as well! My oven broils on high and low, and 5 minutes on low broil was perfect for this sandwich. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: danielli02
soo good! I sauted the onions and peppers and broiled the eggplant by itself first. I don't like mushrooms so I left that out, assembled the sandwich and broiled for a few mins till the cheese was melted. Very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: KADart05
Very good! Just make sure that you use a really high quality bread for this sandwich! I didn't change a thing and it turned out great
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ruffleddove
I used olive tapenade instead of pesto and no goat cheese,sharp cheddar instead.I also used Ciabatta bread...fantastic!!! Be sure to add enough salt and pepper. Pepper totally makes this sandwich. Maybe next time a bit of Balsamic? It's a winner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: SABLESONG
I lightly grilled the eggplant, onions, mushrooms and red peppers. I also used fresh mozzarella. My family loved it and we will certainly make again. I agree with others that a good quality bread should be used.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Weonk
I accidentally forgot to add the spices (basil and oregano) and only had brick cheese but it still turned out excellent. VERY GOOD recipe. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Susie Ginther Brauns
I used Weight Watchers sandwich rounds, and this sandwich has now become my favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: 2sdcook2
I grilled eggplant, red pepper and onions before assembling the sandwiches and then grilled the assembled sandwiches as well. I also lightly toasted the bread. I pan fried the mushrooms in some light olive oil. My husband, who doesn't like vegetarian meals, loved this and asked for seconds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes