My Reviews (10)

Veal, Feta and Eggplant Moussaka

This moussaka is made with veal, but you can substitute other ground meat if you prefer. It's perfect either as an entree or a main with a side of potatoes.
Reviews (10)


29 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Foxgirl
I am only giving 1 star, because that is the least I can give. If you decide to make this, don't slice the eggplant too thin, or else it tears when taking it off the baking sheet. Also, the meat filling was very greasy. Just all around not a good combo of ingredients. I love Moussaka when it is made correctly and this is not the way to make it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: c39r49
I changed it a little--added some cinnamon, as that is typically Greek, and used ground turkey rather than veal. I "baked" it in a slow-cooker, since I was going to be out for awhile. It turned out wonderfully!! My husband said, "If you promise to make this, I won't wince when I see you buying an eggplant."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: tiulpan
It is an amazing dish! I cooked it once and now it became my husband's favorite! Can't believe someone gave it only one star! Eggplant must be cut not thinner than a quarter inch. If the meat filling has an access of grease, I usually would slightly drain it before i put it in the baking dish. All my friends who tried it loved this moussaka and asked for a recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Andrea
Very good! Don't leave out the feta - it's what really makes the dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: bjmack
Used ground turley instead of veal. Doubled the tomato paste and parsley, and added some more beef broth. excellent! Truly excellent, even though we tried our best to screw it up by accidentally overbaking the eggplant. Came out incredibly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2016
We loved this recipe. I used ground goat meat instead of the veal. I even forgot the cheese. Even so, it was moist and delicious. A little splash of hot sauce put it over the top. Terrific!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Anna Murphy
I've made this a few times according to the recipe and it is fantastic. Today, my eggplant was bad so I made it with zucchini instead and I think it turned out even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Angela Harris
Excellent recipe. I substituted venison for the veal, and it was delicious! I will definitely makes this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2015
Reviewed by: Saira Haroon
This came out really delicious. I added some Garam Masala for flavor as I like my food spicy. Also, it was a good idea to cut the aubergine not too thin. It cooks quite quickly so medium thickness does well too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: teidsath
Super good recipe, although I did make some changes. I used ground lamb instead of ground veal because I love lamb and thought it might be more traditional. I agree with some of the other reviewers that it is important to remove grease after browning meat, double the tomato paste and use more beef broth to keep meat moist during the simmer time. Also the Bechamel sauce needs to be seasoned with salt and pepper. Other than that it is a keeper, my husband loved it and I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes