My Reviews (24)

Lentil, Spinach and Lemon Soup

This is a soup from Syria which is very warm and comforting. The lemon and cumin, added near the end, brighten it.
Reviews (24)


28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: AzzaJaba
Hello, I'm the author of this recipe. You need to add about a teaspoon of cumin to the soup towards the end with the lemon juice. The cumin and lemon juice make all the difference in the taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2010
Reviewed by: fantomette
I added cilantro, garlic, corriander and a chicken bouillon cube,,amazing!! A+++
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: ktchristmas
merely OK, which is odd because I usually love Syrian food. Seemed like it was definitely missing something, even with the addition of cumin. Was a decent way to use up some old lentils I had laying around but won't be making this one again any time soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Muffin Mans wife
This is a very good base recipe. You need to add what you like but mine came out great. I added carrots, corriander, cumin, garlic salt and tabasco. This is a perfect post workout meal packed with protein and low in fat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: aja
Wonderful recipe! I added two bay leaves to the boiling water and lentils, making sure to take them out before step 2 I added a cup of vegetable stock after adding the lemon juice and spinach. The cumin and parsley were a great addition and cracked pepper is a must in my diet!! Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Lisa
I added more spinach and the recommended cumin. We really enjoyed it. Ours came out less like a soup than like a thick stew, though... and I added in additional water and skipped the step with the flower.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: nunahanuna
Our mother used to always make this soup for us. Mmmmm
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Shary
Seemed like it was lacking something. I used some bone broth as part of the liquid; added some pepper and fresh parsley when it still seemed like it needed something more. I think I'll try adding some turkey or some spicy sausage when/if I make this again. At any rate, my baby seemed to like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: LovingFoodInNYC
Good basic recipe. Definately needs the 1 t. of cumin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: cehub
I added carrots and I think it needed more liquid so I used chicken broth and water, about 2 1/2 cups all told. Very good, hearty taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes