My Reviews (151)

Prawn Stuffed Eggplant

Prawns and basil make a delicious stuffing for baked eggplant. Serve as a healthy but filling main dish accompanied by risoni and a green salad.
Reviews (151)


26 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: SUKI1979
I really enjoyed this recipe! I halved the amount of breadcrumbs, doubled the amount of shrimp and of garlic, and added some mushrooms. It was delicious! Definitely a recipe you can play with to suit your own tastes. And it reheats well too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: TSTORYLAW
A little tweaking, and this dish tasted just like my favorite dish at the red bar in grayton beach, florida! less breadcrumbs (about half), add onions, a little more garlic & shrimp, add a little thyme- and this was the best eggplant dish i've ever eaten- divine! this recipe is great for those who love to cook because you can adjust to suit your taste... thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2006
Reviewed by: Gilda George
This is a great recipe with a huge amount of flavor; it is easy to make and very versatile. I followed the recipe as stated, except for the following additions. I chopped a medium size onion, a small red, and a small green bell pepper, and sauteed them before I added the rest of the ingredients. I also added thyme and extra garlic, and I used one cup of bread crumbs instead of two. Everyone loved it, and I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: sue
This is probably the best meal I have ever made!! I decreased the breadcrumbs as suggested, and added chopped spinach, portabello mushrooms, and pine nuts. It was a huge hit and I will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: elizmill
I did one thing VERY differently!! I don't like overcooked shrimp, so, I did the recipe sort of backwards! I scooped out the eggplant and then I brushed the shells with olive oil and about t0 minutes before i wanted to serb]ve the dinner I baked the shells!! Then just beforew they were done i did the rest. Once the shells were done I piled in the cooked BRIEFLY shrimp, basil, wine and chopped eggplant. This I then piled into the cooked shells and spread the smaller mix of bread crumbs and parmewsan cheese. It was wonderful! The shrimp were not tough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2011
Reviewed by: Kate
This was a home run! I enjoy eggplant but always am looking for a way to make it aside from the standard and fattening Italian parmesan. I stumbled upon this recipe and couldn't wait to try. I took the advice of others by doubling shrimp and reducing bread crumbs in half. I didn't use all of the eggplant flesh in the stuffing...left out the especially seedy sections. Sauteed (in 1/4c oil) 1/4c chopped red onion, 1/2c chopped mushroom, 3 cloves minced garlic, 1/4c chopped roasted red pepper (canned), 1c chopped eggplant, 1/2c chicken broth (instead of wine), 16 shrimp chopped and 1/8c fresh basil. Made sure to add the shrimp at very end so they didn't become rubbery. Used 1/2c parm cheese in stuffing and lite sprinkle on top. Baked for 35 minutes and let rest for 5. They were delicious and filling. Served with supreme spinach from AR and garlic texas toast. Can't wait to make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: earth_girl
I find it insulting that people can rate a recipe without making it!!!! the calorie intake is obviously wrong! Just make the recipe and then review it , instead of doing the opposite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: ncope
Yummy, yummy! I crave this recipe! I have replaced half of the breadcrumbs with a chopped zuchinni and it's really great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: FBA
Not bad. I added more than 8 shrimp. We finished the whole dish but my husband commented that the bread crumbs overpowered the flavor of the dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: BJFARM
We thought this was very good but needed more seasiong. Next time I'm going to try it in a cassarole dish as we didn't care for the eggplant skin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes