My Reviews (21)

Spicy Chicken Meatballs

These make a great entree or hors d'œuvre for a party. Serve with a variety of dressings or dipping sauces. These also freeze well.
Reviews (21)


02 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: Kristen
Made these without the red pepper as I knew the kids wouldn't go for that. Easy to make. Made some with my small scoop, those came out great. Made some with my larger scoop and flattened those more like croquettes. Those came out more like Chicken flavored biscuits -- not a bad thing, but might try reducing the baking mix some next time. Thanks for a great recipe Nicole!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: COLEE576
These were a big hit at the tailgate! Quick, easy and delicious. I froze some and will serve them as appetizers at thanksgiving. THANKS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: PSLILQ
Yummy and quick. This one is a keeper. I used Chi Chi's southwestern ranch dip and served them hot. They were gone before I knew it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: JCORDEIRO
An interesting concept- mostly like a biscuit flavored with chicken. I added a little salt, subbed sharp cheddar cheese, and had to add a little milk to prevent crumbling while shaping the balls. Maybe that's because I used reduced fat baking mix. Will certainly make again...maybe add some chopped up bacon green onion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2008
Reviewed by: Kristen
Wish I'd read all the reviews before I pre-made a double batch for my party (by the way, this makes about 5 dozen 1" balls!). I thought they were bland also and would have added more spices, but they were filling and not bad with salsa. I suppose I'll leave them for the guests who like blander foods and definitely NOT call them spicy, and will serve a variety of dipping sauces with them. I doubt I'll keep the recipe though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: kmechelleb
I like them. I just think it may be too much bread. However, my two year old LOVED them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: NYC Gal
Great idea for the kids - sans the red pepper of course. But you need much less baking mix and more chicken otherwise it tastes like a bland dough ball even with sauce. next time I will bump up the chicken, turn down the mix, put some more onion in there and maybe garlic and I think we'll have a winner
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: KKH3
They were really good and easy to make. I used cheddar cheese instead of Monetery Jack and chili powder instead of red pepper flakes. They were good dipped in ranch dressing, but even better in homemade vegetable dip.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Brittany Kline
maybe after I tweak this a little I may rate it differently but I was not impressed with this. I have another LB of ground chicken now in the freezer but I keep putting off trying this again because of the level of disappointment. The idea is great and when we added spicy ranch as the dipping it was okay but not more than that. It's not like it's horrible... it is just missing the WOW factor. I agree that it tastes like a biscuit with chicken flavor. We are a huge fan of the anytizers and thought this would be a good replacement. It's nice to have something in the freezer and pull out and put in the toaster oven when we have suprised guests visit. I think I am going to try again and cut back on the biscuit mix (use it more or less as a filler rather than the main ingredient) and add a little hot sauce and/or cayenne pepper. I think if these had more spice, it would zing it up a little and give it a higher rating. I'm trying other recipes now, but will maybe come back to this one some day and will see what the changes do for it. If the changes don't make a difference, I won't try again. sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Karen
I love these balls, except I make them without the red pepper flakes, cuz I dont like things real spicy. I only use about 1/3 of the baking mix it says and double up on the garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes