My Reviews (17)

Easy Sourdough Bread

Sourdough bread is easy to make in the bread machine. You can make your own starter ahead of time with yeast, flour and water.
Reviews (17)


22 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: LenoreMcClintock
This is so good and I have made it with 1 cup whole meal flour , even better in my opinion
 
07 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: DOROTHY GAMOURAS
I used a sourdough starter made with whole wheat flour-no white flour and followed the rest of Mari's recipe; it was just great! Sincerely Dorothy Gamouras
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2000
This made a great bread. I had to use almost double the amount of starter called for though, and it took quite a while to rise. Will definately use again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: RPEREGRINE
This has a wonderful soft chewy texture! Great flavor. Just the right amount of whole wheat flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: IVANDIEPART
Tried it 3 times, failed it 3 times. Makes a very heavy bread that is uncooked in the middle. Taste was quite good, though, but you gotta like heavy mid-uncooked bread to like this one... Somebody can help me (I've already tried to add a bit more water to make the bread rise higher, but it didn't help!)?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Patti
I did have to add quite a bit more water, but once the dough attained the right consistency (depends on the hydration of your starter- mine is thick) this bread came out PERFECT! Nice texture, neither too dense or light, and a flavor to die for. I did have to bake in the oven (350 for 35 min) as the whole wheat setting on my bread machine decided not to work, so I selected dough cycle, then removed and punched down slightly. Added to bread pan and let rise until doubled. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Burns Boiled Water
I'm working my way through all the bread machine recipes on this site and this is beyond the worst. It only cooked on the bottom, the middle was gummy and the top was dough. I'm trying to finish it up in the oven and save this mess. Tweaking may help it, but I will never try this recipe again to find out...not when there are several recipes turned out very nicely!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: HOLLYJOLLY
For some reason there wasn't enough moisture in the dough when it was mixing in the bread machine. It was crumbly and wouldn't form into a ball. I had to add about 1/2 cup of milk to make the right consistancy. Maybe my starter was thicker than usual. The dough seemed really heavy at first but when it rises, it is much lighter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Chris
My bread machine has been broken so I handmade this. I mixed everything as I would for my bread machine. Except I only used 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour and 2 1/4 cup whole wheat flour. I wanted a mostly wheat bread. I had to heat up 1/2 cup whole milk and add it in slowly. Baked it at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. It turned out great. It tastes mostly like wheat bread not really like sourdough at all. But it still made a great bread, nice and fluffy. Next time I am going to try making all 3 3/4 cups whole wheat flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: joeski
My daughter said she wanted to eat the whole loaf! This made a delicious, crusty loaf. With that said, however, I would not recommend this for a novice bread baker. I have seen some comments about the consistency of the dough. How much water you need will depend on a few factors: how much moisture is in the flour, the humidity in the air, how hydrated your starter is, etc. You need to be able to judge these, and adjust accordingly. Also keep in mind that starter-raised loaves rise much more slowly. So if you want it more quickly, you will have to add more commercial yeast to the mix. I used the dough setting on my bread machine, and after it was mixed, I let the dough rise in the pan for about 30-40 minutes. Then, I used the bake setting on the machine to finish the bread. ( My whole wheat cycle was not long enough) If you baby this bread a little bit, you will be rewarded with a crusty, light and tasty loaf! Thanks for sharing, Mari!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes