My Reviews (618)

Ham and Lentil Soup in the Slow Cooker

Ham and lentils make a very satisfying dinner - and using a slow cooker it's easy to set this meal up in the morning and have it ready at the end of the day. Serve with warm bread.
Reviews (618)


27 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Hannen
This was delicious! The only thing I did different was I added a can of stewed tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. Very, very good. If you like it spicy you could add some hot sauce or a little chili powder. I've turned the AC down so I can pretend it's cold outside. This soup is perfect for that...and healthy too. PS. I cooked it on the stove for 45 minutes instead of using the crock pot. I was hungry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: LIZOAKSMITH
Great recipe. I added hamhocks, and added extra water from the start. I also added a half cup extra lentils and used stewed tomatoes. Whole family loved it including kids 5 and 7.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: chejohn
This soup was thick and hearty. I really enjoyed the flavor. You may need to add a little more water, as mine turned out a little too thick. A really enjoyable meal on a cold day with warm corn bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Audrey
I have made this several times because my family enjoys it so much - even my son who is not a soup guy! To make it easier and faster - I use the frozen chopped onions and the individual ham steak which I chop the night before. I use 16 oz of lentils and add 2 more cups of water and 3-4 chicken boullion cubes. Coming home from work to this dinner is so great on a cild winter night. I serve it with fresh Italian bread and some sliced fresh mozzarella.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I used A LOT of lentils, which was not a bad thing, but it was really, really thick and needless to say, I had to add more broth. No matter, it was fabulous! I had a ham bone in the freezer from a couple of months ago which was just waiting for this meal occasion. It gave the soup an incredible flavor. I bought a small turkey ham and chopped it up to add to the mix. I grew up always adding vinegar to my soup bowl, so I threw that in too. Man was this ever good on this very cold N.J. March evening. Thanks so much "Queendiva1"; we loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: dustyshoes
This is a recipe worth keeping, but the cooking time seemed long to me. Lentils using take 20 to 30 minutes to cook in boiling water, so 11 hours seemed way off. And, so it is. After 11 hours the top of my stew was very dark and moisture in the slow cooker was almost nil. I added 2 cups of chicken broth to bring the stew back. It was eatable, but next time I am limiting cooking time to 3 to 4 hours on low. Fully cooked ham, veggies and lentils don't need half a day to cook. I would have rated the recipe 5 stars if not for the cooking time shown.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: rshreeves
Really good. It takes eleven hours so instead of starting it in the morning, I started it the night before and let it cook all night. Then I just reheated it later that night to eat. I did add a little salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Colleen
Mmmmm, this soup is so simple and satisfying. I originally tried this recipe to get rid of left-over ham, but now I am making it all the time! It is so healthy, extremely inexpensive to make, and the leftovers are very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: CDNCOOK
This soup was excellent. We used the leftover Ham from Christmas Dinner and made Soup for New Year's Dinner. I increased the water by approx 1 cup and probably could have added more but it wasn't absolutely necessary.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: christa
This is probably my favorite recipe for soup on this site. No changes except for cooking time. I cook on high for about 4 hrs. and it always comes out perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes